Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: back point in the Peterson position

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default back point in the Peterson position

    Can anyone tell me what the rules are for scoring back points in the finishing position of the Peterson roll? At my son's jr. high meet today one of his teammates hit 2 rolls and got reversal points each time. Both times his opponent's shoulder blades were within inches of a pin (clearly breaking the plane for > 5 seconds). Both his arm and leg were controlled by my son's friend. The ref did not award back points either time. Thanks.

  2. #2

    Default Re: back point in the Peterson position

    I would *think* that because the reversal was called the referee should start counting immediately- assuming he isn't flailing in and out of nearfall territory.

  3. #3
    Ancient Arachnid Spider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,424

    Default Re: back point in the Peterson position

    Suppose you have a Peterson such that your right arm has your opponent's right arm and you are on his right side. Usually, if you have his left leg, a ref won't call the reversal right away because he could tuck his right leg under, come to a base, and regain control; but if you have his right leg, a ref will usually call the reversal right away and start counting back points.

    In the question, though, Schlottke is right. Once there is a reversal, back points are earned if nearfall criteria are met for a sufficient count.

    Remember, though, the count must be continuous. Often a ref will count "one," then the down man's shoulders come out of criteria, then he goes back down and the ref starts to count again, but it looks to the fans like part of the same count. Jroback didn't say if the ref had started his count or not.
    Last edited by Spider; 01-23-2009 at 01:20 PM.
    Atrophy: what you get when you win atournament.

  4. #4

    Default Re: back point in the Peterson position

    Thanks. Both replies were very helpful. The referee called the reversal right away, but never started counting the nearfall. As I thought about it more this weekend at a tournament, I recalled that the wrestler that had just been reversed was in a "sit-up" or "crunch" position....his lower-mid back was flat on the mat but both his shoulders were about 8 inches off the mat. There are probably criteria I don't understand for how close the shoulders have to be to the mat in that position to start counting....

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •