Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 9 of 43

Thread: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

  1. #1
    World Champ
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,766

    Star UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    It's UFC 98 fight week and that means previewing a different bout every single day here on RopesRingCage.com for UFC 98, headlined by Light Heavyweight Champion Rashad Evans vs. Lyoto Machida. While not a sexy card that is heavy on buzz, there are still some intriguing bouts that will answer questions for how the rest of 2009 could play out.

    Today, RRC begins by previewing Sean Sherk vs. Frank Edgar.



    About Sean Sherk (37-3-1)

    The 35-year-old Sherk (seen above on the right) is the definition of a veteran, having waged wars since the summer of 1999. After battling all over the country for a variety of promotions—including four scattered UFC events that included a Welterweight title shot against Matt Hughes at UFC 42—Sherk got the permanent call to the Octagon in April 2005.

    After losing via second-round TKO to Georges St. Pierre UFC 56, he would go on to defeat Nick Diaz at UFC 59 and Kenny Florian at UFC 64 to begin his first and only UFC Lightweight title reign.

    But after a successful July 2007 title defense against Hermes Franca at UFC 73, Sherk was stripped of his belt after testing positive for steroids by the California State Athletic Commission, a charge he vehemently denied and fought, eventually getting a suspension reduced.

    The 5'6" Minnesota native got a return shot at the gold at UFC 84, but was defeated by BJ Penn when he couldn't answer the bell for the fourth round. After picking up a unanimous victory over Tyson Griffin at UFC 90 last October, Sherk now finds himself in the role of gatekeeper with a young and fiery opponent across the ring from him this Saturday.



    About Frankie Edgar (9-1)

    The 27-year-old New Jersey native has been with the UFC since February 2007 when he debuted against Tyson Griffin at UFC 67 in an exciting victory that earned Fight of the Night honors. Edgar followed that up with victories over Mark Bocek and Spencer Fisher before earning his first career loss courtesy of Gray Maynard at last April's UFC Fight Night 13. Edgar got back to his winning ways with another Fight of the Night against Hermes Franca last July, which brings us to this Saturday.



    Breakdown

    Working against Sherk is his age, which at this stage of his career is going to catch up with him at some point. His conditioning is still strong as four of his last five have gone the distance, something that is likely to happen against Edgar, who also has gone the full length in his last three bouts.

    Edgar will have to shake off ring rust, as he's been off for almost a year due to injury, something made more difficult by Sherk's experience. It will be the biggest fight of his career and the opportunity to update his status from "fun fighter to watch" to "positioning for a title shot." We think he'll step up, but in a close career-making upset.



    RRC Pick

    Edgar via unanimous decision

    Josh Nason—josh [at] ropesringandcage [dot com]—has published MMA, wrestling, and boxing blog Ropes, Ring and Cage.com since 2007. He joined up with Bleacher Report in 2008 and achieved Columnist status in 2009.

  2. #2
    National Finalist leglace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tampa Florida
    Posts
    992

    Default Re: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    Good pick. Performity made some presumptious comparisons between Sherk and Maynard. Yes Maynard overwhelmed Edgar on the mat. Partly because of his size. But lets not forget that Maynard was one of the better wrestlers to not win an NCAA title. Sherk is not in his league in technique. In fact, Maynard would be the worst matchup for Sherk imo. Yes, Sherk is strong and has a great blast double. But as we saw against Griffin, Sherk could not hold a good wrestler down. Edgar outwrestled Griffin if you recall.

    Sherk's striking is too short. Blame it on is short limbs. I see a better skilled puncher in Edgar circling and outpointing Sherk. Sherk may get frustrated and sloppy. His chin is good, but not bulletproof.

    Edgar wins this.

  3. #3
    Olympic Champ clmetal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Philthadelphia, South America
    Posts
    2,753

    Default Re: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    I think Sherk wins - barely and in 3 rounds (pretty much a given this is going the distance)
    "I don?t give a f_ck about money, bro. Believe me when I tell you that." Dana White

  4. #4
    National Finalist leglace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tampa Florida
    Posts
    992

    Default Re: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    Alright Claude. Its on lol. I know it was hard to not make a homer pick. But I do feel confident. Edgar is game when he is an underdog.

  5. #5
    Olympic Champ clmetal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Philthadelphia, South America
    Posts
    2,753

    Default Re: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    Quote Originally Posted by leglace View Post
    Alright Claude. Its on lol. I know it was hard to not make a homer pick. But I do feel confident. Edgar is game when he is an underdog.
    If he can stop Sherk's takedowns (and he might) he can certainly win.

    Although we don't have accomplishments to point to, Sherk said he's been wrestling his whole life and he certainly appears to be good at it. He took Hughes down a few times and he has other nice wins which almost always involve wrestling.

    As you've already said, Sherk's arms are really short so he throws hard punches that always seem to fall short of landing.

    I might try to go to this.



    It looks like the UFC now has like 12 guys per event? when did this start? (PJ). I'm surprised they are doing this, but it makes going live more exciting (and probably helps DVD sales).
    "I don?t give a f_ck about money, bro. Believe me when I tell you that." Dana White

  6. #6

    Default Re: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    For awhile they had 9 fights an event. In the ufc 80's they started going to ten, and then eventually 11, and now it seems they are going to twelve.

    Their roster continues to expand so they dont have enough cards to put all the guys on a consistent basis.

    Sherk vs. Edgar should be a very close fight and i could see it going either way. The winner will be decided on who the better striker is. Each might get a couple takedowns but wont be able to control the other.

    CL, how areo u going to this when its vegas?

  7. #7
    National Finalist leglace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tampa Florida
    Posts
    992

    Default Re: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    Claude thats cool. I missed my opportunity when the UFC was in Tampa. I had plans that foiled my opportunity.

    I think Edgar may get taken down once or twice. However, Frankie is exceptional on his feet, and he should be up on his feet quickly should he get caught off guard. You know he has been training to stuff the takedowns. If he stuffs a few and counters with punches, you know Sherk will probably do what he did with Griffin. If Edgar starts winning the exchanges with good movement ala BJ Penn, Sherk might get sloppy and dive at his legs and actually give up a takedown.

    Frankie has been training with Pelligrino, Miller, and Alvarez. However, he needs to be working with Winston a bit to nail down the TD defense. There is a good possibility he is. Edgar has trained Winston for many years before Rutgers.

  8. #8

    Default Re: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    Leglace, if Edgar gets carried out to the cage on a stretcher and full body cast then we will know you are the official curse of new jersey wrestlers.

  9. #9
    National Finalist leglace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tampa Florida
    Posts
    992

    Default Re: UFC 98 Fight Week Preview: Sean Sherk Vs. Frank Edgar

    Quote Originally Posted by p-jersey View Post
    Leglace, if Edgar gets carried out to the cage on a stretcher and full body cast then we will know you are the official curse of new jersey wrestlers.
    Ouch...
    I refuse to take blame for Massenzio! Dammit, I never said "Hey Mike wrap up the guilotine" when he should have just teed of on a dazed CB.

    Lets not forget he came in with his leg wrapped up like a mummy before he even got in the Octagon.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •