Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

  1. #1

    Default Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    A couple of years ago I witnessed a match where I thought the referee would have been correct to stop the bout.

    One wrestler had slammed the other and lost a point as a result. The wrestler doing the slamming actually appeared more dazed than the other. But I think that was illusionary.

    When action resumed there came a series of bonecrushing double legs TDs by the wrestler who had been penalized, I think three in total, followed by immediate cuts. Each time the wrestler who had been slammed rose to his feet when cut and faced his opponent, but seemed defenseless to the next straight on blast double. After the third cut, I was alarmed and was forming the thought that this has to be stoppped.

    Fortunately the coach of the wrestler (who was also his dad), yelled to the ref and signalled that the ankle band was coming off. He was forfeiting.

    My question, could the ref have ended the bout ala a boxing ref? Or could the ref, on his own initiative, have stopped the bout with both wrestlers on their feet, to have the one wrestler looked at. I don't know that I have ever seen it and wonder if it's in the rules.
    DSCH: a Soviet artist's reply to unjust criticism.

  2. #2
    Ancient Arachnid Spider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,424

    Default Re: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    I can only speak for high school, but without consulting my rule book (I'm not home now), I would say that the ref can stop the match at any time if he feels that the health or safety of a wrestler is in danger. If no one finds it sooner, I'll look it up when I get home tonight.
    Atrophy: what you get when you win atournament.

  3. #3
    NCAA Champ ccbig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    1,144

    Default Re: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    This is what believe is true in USA wrestling-

    As a matter of safety a referee can stop a bout at anytime.

    If the referee thought one wrestler for whatever reason could not continue and would be in danger of injury the referee can stop the match.
    If we don't fight hard enough for the things we stand for, at some point we have to recognize that we don't really stand for them.

    ~Paul Wellstone~

  4. #4

    Default Re: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    I've seen are a ref stop a match due to a slam even though the slammed wrestler wanted to continue.

    He said the slammed wrestler was knocked out for a few seconds and refused to let him finish the bout.

  5. #5
    Ancient Arachnid Spider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,424

    Default Re: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ground&Pound View Post
    I've seen are a ref stop a match due to a slam even though the slammed wrestler wanted to continue.

    He said the slammed wrestler was knocked out for a few seconds and refused to let him finish the bout.
    That's not a matter of choice, it's a rule.
    Atrophy: what you get when you win atournament.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    I understand that the ref made the right call, I wasn't being critical.

    If I remember correctly, they drove the kid to see a doctor between rounds to get cleared to compete later that day.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    If the ref feels that one of the wrestlers is "not fit to continue" he can stop the match. I've seen it done before in a similar circumstance. One kid had been thrown several times and landed very hard, all the throws were at the edge of the mat. After the third when the ref brought them both back to the starting line and blew the whistle to start the action the one wrestler pretty much just stood there. The match was immediately stopped then.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    Thanks for the responses. Good stuff.

    So the ref could have stopped the match, but perhaps was reluctant to for a couple of possible reasons.
    DSCH: a Soviet artist's reply to unjust criticism.

  9. #9
    Olympic Champ r.payton@att.net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Danville .Indiana
    Posts
    8,718

    Default Re: Can a wrestling referee call a "technical knockout"?

    Once had a ref pass out at Frankfort -noone seemed to notice til I ran out on the mat -he was having a seizure -Ref's are human too.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •