Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 9 of 12

Thread: Blacking out in a match

  1. #1

    Default Blacking out in a match

    I was wrestling in a dual meet against a decent kid. The match had just started. I got an ankle pick but finished it out of bounds, so we started neutral back in the center. I remember looking at my coach, who said "good, do it again." After that, I don't have a clear memory of what happened. I was told that he got me in a headlock while we were still neutral, and I didn't appear to be fighting it. We were still standing in that position for about 1.5 seconds, but I don't remember that. Then everything went white, and I was sort of dreaming, although nothing was happening in the dream. Then I woke up and found myself laying on my back with a trainer and my coach standing over me, and the trainer asked me if I remembered where I was. I did, but I was really out of it and wasn't sure if I was still dreaming. I asked what the hell had just happened I was told that I blacked out because he put me in a headlock and cut the circulation to my brain. I understood that he had gone ahead and pinned me, which I thought was unfair because I wasn't conscious when it happened, and i didn't have any recollection of him scoring any points on me. I wanted a rematch, but they wouldn't let me wrestle.
    I asked around a bit to find out exactly what had happened. I spoke with the guy I wrestled and he said that he felt me go limp while we were still neutral when he had me in the headlock. He wasn't sure what to do, so he finished it and pinned me anyways. When he got off me, I remained motionless for about a minute, until I finally regained consciousness.
    I have a few questions about this. Should the ref have called it as potentially dangerous? Isn't it his job to be aware of the fact that I wasn't conscious because my eyes were closed and I went limp and stopped fighting while we were still neutral? And should this loss go on my record? Thanks.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Blacking out in a match

    Wow if he was choking you hard enough that he was cutting off circulation than the ref is really STUPID and should quit his job before a wrestler gets hurt. Did your opponent have an arm with the headlock?
    "Every artist was first an amateur."
    "You miss 100% of shots you don't take."


  3. #3

    Default Re: Blacking out in a match

    Yea he did, but my neck was being pulled so tight and it was obvious that I was no longer conscious.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Blacking out in a match

    In a jv match I was wrestling in, I got a double leg takedown on a guy and he landed on top of his arm badly and he started yelling "MY ARM!! MY ARM!!!" He pretty much stopped wrestling so I looked at the ref. The ref told me to keep going, so I just pinned him. I found out he dislocated his shoulder pretty bad. I asked the ref afterwards why he didn't tell me to stop and he said that I didn't have an illegal hold or anything so he couldn't stop the match. But you actually blacked out in a varsity match so the ref should have been more concerned with the safety.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Blacking out in a match

    Most headlocks are potentially dangerous, but it seems like refs try not to call it on them.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Blacking out in a match

    Quote Originally Posted by Wrestling_Prodigy View Post
    Wow if he was choking you hard enough that he was cutting off circulation than the ref is really STUPID and should quit his job before a wrestler gets hurt. Did your opponent have an arm with the headlock?

    Not saying the ref is innocent, but this does happen pretty quickly. I blacked out from a completely legal head lock once, it only takes a few seconds if the grip is just right. I also have some teammates who made a habit of choking guys froma front headlock, again, only takes a couple of seconds to block off blood flow.

    An example from the world championships: Arsen Fadzaev vs Athanniades
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p21PxT_TZqo


    Gogschelidze blacks out after wrestling Gatsalov (a bit of a different situation but great match)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wt24ABdQy1c

  7. #7
    NCAA Champ WhippetGrappler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Moved to Suffolk, VA
    Posts
    1,281

    Default Re: Blacking out in a match

    The ref does not need an illegal move to stop action in a meet. Injury is an immediate stop in the action. I would say loss of consciousness is the same.
    BRUTUS BUCKEYE WILL TAKE YOU DOWN...

  8. #8

    Default Re: Blacking out in a match

    Quote Originally Posted by WhippetGrappler View Post
    The ref does not need an illegal move to stop action in a meet. Injury is an immediate stop in the action. I would say loss of consciousness is the same.
    This makes me wonder . . . if it turns out that the ref was negligent and should have called it as an injury, and I lost because of that negligence, should I count this on my personal record? And is there any way to protest to a "higher authority?"

  9. #9
    Ancient Arachnid Spider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,424

    Default Re: Blacking out in a match

    Any hold that cuts off air or circulation to the head is illegal (Rule 7, Section 1, Article 5v - page 37). Referees should be extremely vigilant of this in any headlock situation, especially a front headlock. If there is doubt as to whether it's illegal, it should be stopped as potentially dangerous. The ref may have made an error here, but now that the match is over, you can't protest it. Unfortunately, the result is official and it counts as a loss.
    Atrophy: what you get when you win atournament.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •