Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 9 of 40
Discuss Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers at the Freestyle & Greco-Roman Wrestling within the Wrestling Talk Forums; True they like wrestling a lot but so do ethnic Russians. When I lived in ...
  1. #1
    Big
    Big is offline
    Olympic Champ
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    On the forums
    Posts
    8,345

    Default Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    True they like wrestling a lot but so do ethnic Russians. When I lived in Russia there was much interest in wrestling among ethnic Russians. What made wrestlers from Dagestan and Osetia dominant was their early maturity physically. At 12-13 years old they were already hairy and looked like they were 20 often. They looked like men when everyone else looked like little kids of the same age.

    This early maturity simply got them into better clubs, better coaching and better competition. By the time they were 18 few ethnic Russians could catch up to their experience.

  2. #2
    Round of 12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    205

    Default Re: Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    I have noticed same thing in Kurdish people. Here in Finland are several Kurdish immigrant -backgrounded wrestlers, and they sure are more hairy and muscular (and of course stronger) than Finnish kids. They are dominating in age group of 12 to 18, but since you can't get in better clubs or better national competitions here, the others catch up them and they begin to lose.

  3. #3
    Hearts Zadick bluestater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,260

    Default Re: Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    Quote Originally Posted by Big View Post
    True they like wrestling a lot but so do ethnic Russians. When I lived in Russia there was much interest in wrestling among ethnic Russians. What made wrestlers from Dagestan and Osetia dominant was their early maturity physically. At 12-13 years old they were already hairy and looked like they were 20 often. They looked like men when everyone else looked like little kids of the same age.

    This early maturity simply got them into better clubs, better coaching and better competition. By the time they were 18 few ethnic Russians could catch up to their experience.
    If it's genetics, then it's not the "superior training" that you have been touting for so long. You can't play both sides of the fence.

  4. #4
    Big
    Big is offline
    Olympic Champ
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    On the forums
    Posts
    8,345

    Default Re: Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    Its both bluestater. Without training they would not be World class. I meant superior with regard to other Russian wrestlers that train under the same system.

  5. #5
    World Champ
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,859

    Default Re: Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    Caucaus is a social periphery. In Europe, FS is developed only in such peripheral regions (far away from a cultural centre), mostly in rural areas. Civilized urban people don't have any interest in wrestling. That is the only reason why wrestling is dominant in the uncivilized (= not westernized) Caucasus. It is a matter of social proccesses, not of genetics.

  6. #6
    Redshirt
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    with all due respect akzent, if you don't have the genes, (ability), your never going to be world class. Carl Lewis was born fast. Granted you have to work extra hard, even with he genes. But without the inate ability you have almost no chance.
    Last edited by FRED; 07-08-2008 at 07:47 AM. Reason: miss spelling

  7. #7
    Big
    Big is offline
    Olympic Champ
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    On the forums
    Posts
    8,345

    Default Re: Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    akzent, Are you saying other than in the Caucasus region there are no rural areas in Russia? Please, In Russia wrestling is very developed in many regions other than Caucas. I don't know now but when I lived there actually the cities such as Leningrad had all the major clubs and all the top rural kids were coming to big city clubs to live and train.

    The fact is Caucas people mature faster and they get better attention and training between ages 12-18 which helps them become good senior wrestlers.

  8. #8
    oc
    oc is offline
    Round of 12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Norwood, Pa.
    Posts
    477

    Default Re: Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    Interesting, you think they mature faster, I would suspect they're lying about their age.

  9. #9
    Big
    Big is offline
    Olympic Champ
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    On the forums
    Posts
    8,345

    Default Re: Genetics in my opinion make athletes from Caucas region superior wrestlers

    Quote Originally Posted by oc View Post
    Interesting, you think they mature faster, I would suspect they're lying about their age.
    Not to the extent where a 13 year old wrestler looks like he is 20. It may be possible to lie about a year or 2 but not about 7 years.

    When I wrestled there it was almost a done deal loss if you had to wrestle a Caucas wrestler. A man vs boy every time.

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

user tags

wrestling dominant areas in russia

hairy wrestlers

hairy men wrestlers

russian wrestling genetic or trainng

hairy greco roman wrestlers

wwwhairymenwrestlers

wwwhairyoldtimewrestlers

wrestling genetic

kurdish genetics

hairymenwrestlers

ethnic russian wrestlers

kurdish men genetics

hairy dagestan men

russian wrestlers dont lift weights

site: do russian wrestlers lift weights

greco wrestling genetics

wrestlers hairy kurdish

hairy muscles kurdish

do all russian wrestlers come from caucas

lying about age in wrestling

kavkaz genetics

why russian wrestlers are all caucasian

superior hairy men

caucasian superior genetics

russians superior genetics

caucas wrestlers

why are russian wrestlers so hairy

russian wrestlers from dagestan

facial hair greco freestyle

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •