Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Esposito did not handle Kolat

  1. #1
    Olympic Champ
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    On the forums
    Posts
    8,345

    Default Esposito did not handle Kolat

    Description of the match:

    Both periods in the Kolat-Esposito match went to the leg clinch. Esposito won the coin flip in the first period and finished with Kolat?s leg and gained two exposure points to win the period. Kolat won the flip in the second period, but was unable to finish with a single as Esposito pulled off the win.

    http://www.themat.com/index.php?page...rticleID=16541

  2. #2

    Default

    Big - I agree with your comments in the other thread (assuming you weren't being sarcastic).... Kolat doesn't know how to do anything halfway so if he's decided on a comeback, this weight will be his in 2008, if not sooner. At the very least, it will certainly be an entertaining weight class to watch for the next 12-15 months.
    Super 32 Challenge - October 26-27, 2013

    "Good things happen when you wrestle for a full seven minutes." -- Jayson Ness, post-finals press conference

  3. #3
    Olympic Champ
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    On the forums
    Posts
    8,345

    Default

    I would not dare to be sarcastic about a man who did a backflip while defending his leg.

  4. #4
    World Champ ODH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,960

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big View Post
    Description of the match:

    Both periods in the Kolat-Esposito match went to the leg clinch. Esposito won the coin flip in the first period and finished with Kolat?s leg and gained two exposure points to win the period. Kolat won the flip in the second period, but was unable to finish with a single as Esposito pulled off the win.

    http://www.themat.com/index.php?page...rticleID=16541
    The clinch rules have hurt him before.
    I remember in 2000 Olympic when the old Greco style clinch was eing used, every time there was a clinch, he would just unlock immediately and give up a point. I think that might have been the deciding factor in one of his matches.

  5. #5

    Default

    I've got a Kolat highlight video from ideamark that shows one or two of his matches from Sydney and it does show that. I had been puzzled on why he was doing it. I know those rules were loopy, but still thats kind of hard to fathom him not at least getting passable in that position.

  6. #6

    Default

    I have his Sydeny match against Talaei where he breaks his lock. He then gets 4 points scored on him from a turn (2), lift(1), and another turn(1) to put Talaei ahead 5-0. Kolat rallies back but still loses 5-4. I guess he would rather give up the 1 point than the fear of getting thrown for multiple points.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •