Thread: My Situation, Help requested

Default My Situation, Help requested

My name is Jasen and i am a Junior in High school, and this is my first time in Wrestling. My weight shifts between 226-230 and i stand at 5'11. I consider myself to be physically strong in the arms, my last max out showed that my limit was 235 bench press, that was last year. My fastest mile was 8 min 17 sec. I am one of six boys, and the largest, so i've learned to twist my body to prevent my brothers from escaping.

I participated in my first practice this last Monday, its finals week so there has been no practice since. The practice only strengthened my resolve to participate in the sport, yet i am having some difficulties. I have not had a chance to correctly learn any of the basic moves, and i wish not to bother my coachs since we are already well into the season, and they have several other more experienced wrestlers to attend to. That, and all of my wrestling friends are literally half my size, so i do not know if they could help me learn the moves.

So my first problem is, how do i learn all the basic moves on the mat?

I also was shown that my cardio is not as strong as i believed it to be. In fact, i was dead last when we went out for our 3 runs around the track + 20 pushups/situps/dips in between, and then three bleechers. I find that to be unsatisfactory, how do i improve my Cardio?

Ive searched the internet, and most of what i have found has been set for wrestlers that are not in my weight class. If anyone can give me tips, work out plans, or any links to some of either, I would much appreciate it.

Thank you

Default Re: My Situation, Help requested

I was about your weight when I was in high school as well. You've asked a couple of questions so I'll attempt to answer them all.