Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: What should I work out on?

Default What should I work out on?

I am 130 pounds and 16 years old. I habe VERY low fat and I'm mostly muscle. I would say I am about 5'9 feet. I've been wrestling for 3 years since middle school and I'm pretty fond of the sport. This isn't counting last year when I couldn't wrestle due to injury of 2 broken bones. Right now I am a junior and I am joining wrestling yet again. I have big goals for this year planning to be the best that I can be and pushing myself to the limit. I'm aiming to be a state champion if not, at least a district champion. You might laugh at me but this is my goal and I'm going to try my best at it, succeed or fail isn't the matter; But it is the journey there that counts.

I need help from you guys in achieving this. I need to know exactly what exercises I should be doing on a regular basis, how many, how often, at what intensity, etc. Also, what should I be focusing on? I need you guys to set me a list of things I should do; and I will act accordingly.

Right now I am doing low reps with heavy weight trying to gain as much muscle bulk as I can. Which I know may not be the smartest decision for my conditioning. I am also working on my conditioning with mostly jogs. Should be focusing more on muscle endurance by bodyweight training? Should I do more sprints and less jogs?

Default Re: What should I work out on?

pull ups/situps/pushups
    rope climbs
    burpees
    bear crawls
    sprints
    kettlebell training (if you have access to them)
    Squats
    Lunges
    Good Mornings

Focus on fuctional strength training ala Grecowrestler's workout log
    "All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become."

You should definitly do bodyweight training, as I do it every day. Pullups, chinups, pushups, crunches, dips, pistols, etc. Nothing better than all that.
    TRAIN LIKE A MADMAN!