Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am looking to gain strength though not much size, feel free to constructively criticize

Default I am looking to gain strength though not much size, feel free to constructively criticize

I am a freshman in high school. I am looking to gain strength without adding much size. I took a couple ideas from Joe DeFranco's "WS4SB". Any suggestions on things such reps per set, rest times and perhaps more wrestling-specific exercises?
    Upper Body

Bench Press 5-4-3-2-1
    Power Clean 5-4-3-2-1
    Chin-ups 3 sets to failiure

Barbell Rows 3x6
    Rear Delt flyes 3x8-12
    Barbell Shrugs 3x10
    Zottmann Curls 4x8
    Skullcrushers 8,6,4,2,1

Lower Body

Parallel Squat 5-4-3-2-1
    Hang Clean 5-4-3-2-1
    Front Squat 5x5
    Romanian Deadlift 3x6-8
    Reverse Lunge 3x10
    Sit ups w/ a plate

Upper Body
    Incline Bench 8,6,4,2,1
    Alternating Dumbell Curl 3x8
    Tricep extensions 3x10

Circuit
    Plate rows, military presses to medball push ups and twists
    5x16,15,14,13,12

Explosive training

Box Jumps 5-8 of 3-5
    Triple Box Jumps 10times
    Over across over (I jump over 6in platforms, over one across one over the other)

Kettlebells
    Swing and Squat
    Swing Squat and Press
    Reverse Lunge snatch
    Rotations
    3x20

Medicine Balls
    Dunks
    Side throws

3x12,14,16

Default Re: I am looking to gain strength though not much size, feel free to constructively criticize

This looks like a great program. I have found that long cycle double kettlebell clean and jerk and double kettlebell snatch have helped the wrestlers that I train tremendously. Another thing I like to do is set your workout up like it is a match. 7 minutes with no rest. I find that training for time works wonders for endurance. Heavy days I do reps and sets. Good luck. This is a very comprehensive program. Nice job.
    "All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become."