Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: WWE & UFC for the kids

Sunny Day! WWE & UFC for the kids

As a youth coach I have been amazed how many parents and kids thought youth wrestling was anything like WWE or the UFC. I have had to explain many times to some of these misguided people that youth and high school wrestling does not allow punches or kicks etc.

Do you think either the WWE or UFC have a positive or negative effect on the real sport of wrestling at the youth & high school levels and the perception of what the sport of wrestling is about?

Default Re: WWE & UFC for the kids

My opinion:
    WWE 100% negative
    UFC is mixed. Good exposure for ex-wrestlers and their skills, bad becasue people can associate the violence and brutality with wrestling.

Quote Originally Posted by ODH View Post
    My opinion:
    WWE 100% negative
    UFC is mixed. Good exposure for ex-wrestlers and their skills, bad becasue people can associate the violence and brutality with wrestling.
    I agree with both points.

-------------
    Another thought...

Should you add boxing to the list?

If MMA is considered brutal because of punches then we should not rule out boxing.

Do a youtube search of the best boxing knockouts and you will see some serious brutality.

While your at it, check out the best football hits and hockey hits.

You'll find pure physical violence.

Boxing has been popular for a long time and no one mixes up boxing and wrestling.

Living in PA you might find it hard to believe how many people don't really distinguish amatuer wrestling from pro wrestling.

In interviewing college wrestlers for RevWrestling, one of my standard questions is "How did you get started in the sport?"...

... and I've lost count of how many have said they expected something WWE-ish when they went to their first practice session or match. More than one has joked about being disappointed in not being able to wear a costume, jump off the top rope, or bash an opponent with a chair.