Lee Roy Smith To Receive OSU's Gallagher Award Sunday
DATE: 11/30/2007 10:43:00 PM
Stillwater, OK
By Gavin Lang
Oklahoma State Sports Information

Lee Roy Smith is this year?s recipient of Oklahoma State wrestling?s Gallagher Award and will be presented with the award Sunday as part of the Cowboys? Bedlam Series dual with Oklahoma, set to begin at 2 p.m. in Gallagher-Iba Arena.

The Gallagher Award is presented annually to an OSU wrestling alumnus who exemplifies the spirit and leadership eminent in the tradition of champions.

Currently serving as the Executive Director of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum in Stillwater, Smith wrestled at Oklahoma State from 1977-80, compiling a 114-13-4 overall record. A four-time conference champion, Smith won an NCAA individual championship wrestling at 142 pounds in 1980. He helped the Cowboys to a team conference championship in 1978 and remains to this day ranked among the top 50 Oklahoma State wrestlers of all time in terms of winning percentage at 88.55 pct. His 38 wins in 1980 places

On the international stage, Smith brought a silver medal home from the 1983 world championships.

?It?s an honor to just be considered for this award named after one of the greatest ambassadors this sport has ever had,? Smith said. ?In 1939, the media said that Ed Gallagher is a man without peer in sports. His knowledge, passion and vision for the sport of wrestling have been passed down from every coach and every student-athlete who has ever wrestled for Oklahoma State. I?ve had the honor and privilege to live out what this program has meant to me through being at the Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum and I never would have developed the passion and knowledge for the sport of wrestling if not for my time at OSU.?

From 1992-2001, the Del City, Okla., native served as head wrestling coach at Arizona State, where he was recognized four times over as the Pac-10 Coach of the Year during his time with the Sun Devils. He also served as National Freestyle Coach for USA Wrestling from 1989-1992, and had coached in Martigny, Switzerland and at Oklahoma State.

In receiving the Gallagher Award, Smith becomes the third member of his family to be presented with the honor, as younger brothers John (1997) and Pat (2000) have both been recognized for their contributions. As a trio, the Smith brothers combined for seven NCAA individual championships and 14 All-America honors, with Lee Roy serving as the initial spark of the Smith family wrestling dynasty.

Smith lives in Stillwater with his wife Lisa and daughters LeAnne and Shannon.

Gallagher Award Recipients
1986 ? Rex Peery
1987 ? Frank Lewis
1988 ? Myron Roderick
1989 ? Tommy Chesbro
1990 ? Joe McDaniel
1991 ? John W. Divine
1996 ? Ray Murphy
1997 ? John Smith
1998 ? Grady Peninger
1999 ? Kenny Monday
2000 ? Pat Smith
2001 ? Kendall Cross
2002 ? Mike Sheets
2003 ? Doug Blubaugh
2004 ? Grover Rains
2005 ? Bobby Douglas
2006 ? Charles Hetrick
2007 ? Fred Davis
2008 ? Lee Roy Smith