Thread: Merkle Help

Default Merkle Help

Hi. I am 2nd year coach for a rec wrestling league. This past weekend my 7 year old son was put in a choke hold simmular to a "merkle". ***LET ME JUST BRAG AND SAY MY SON GOT OUT OF IT AND PINNED THE KID*** But I was very disturbed by this move. I understand that is considered "legal" because the kid had an arm in it, but after doing some research I learned that it is supposed to be used as a pinning combination and that a leg needs to be incorporated. I am still very new to wrestling but even my head coaches were pissed! Any advise? Can anyone explain the rules to the move to me? Keep in mind these are 7 and 8 year old ( novice )wrestlers...

Default Re: Merkle Help

Someone??? Anyone????

I'm not sure why you are angry (the choke?), this move can be somewhat of a desperation type of a move to grab a quick reversal/td and back points, and is entirely legal when the arm is incorporated. Explain the situation a little better (the wrestler's positions, what the coaches were angry about) and maybe that would help.