Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Arizona Wrestling

Default Arizona Wrestling

I'm currently debating a move to AZ(now that ASU reinstated their program), and I am just looking for some information on some of their wrestling programs. Any high school a power house? Any nationally ranked high school kids? Last years Team Champs? Local college programs? etc.

I would figure with Scottsdale being the home of Sunkist Kids, Scottsdale would be a pretty decent area, yet I was unable to find anything online... maybe I'm just looking in the wrong places?

I am not looking as a prospective athlete, just as a fan of the sport.

Maybe Sgallan can help?

Mayor of Bringsburg homerdindon's Avatar

Default Re: Arizona Wrestling

I wrestled in AZ, at ASU, and have dabbled in coaching a bit since I graduated, so I'll give my 2 cents.

First, AZ wrestling has taken a lot of steps backward in the past few years. When I was in school, they had 5A, 4A, 3A, and 2A/1A, which is already way too many divisions. They separated 5A into 5A Division 1 and 5A Division 2, and 4A the same way, so now it is somewhat of a joke in my opinion. There are people winning state that are mediocre wrestlers at best.

First, the only school that I would consider a powerhouse is Sunnyside, which is in Tucson. They are pretty much the best team in the state year in and year out. And I honestly don't think that will change anytime soon. Other good schools are Mesa (in Mesa) and Corona Del Sol (in Tempe). I always hear alot about Safford (which is 3A, which is the 5th highest division) and Camp Verde (2A, 6th highest division), but I never get to watch them really.

As far as individuals, it's been a weak past few years in Arizona, but it looks like there are some tough younger guys coming up. AZ did well at Sophomore Nationals last year, and had one kid win it (Ryak Finch from Safford). AZ only had one kid place at Senior Nationals last year, and he placed 8th.