Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: A Wrestling Fact About Your School

Default A Wrestling Fact About Your School

I am pretty new to the wrestling scene as far as being a real fan. I have always just focused on my team, which you all probably know by now is Owatonna. But being out of high school now and being engaged to a girl from Apple Valley, i want to be a fan of the sport and not just a school. So if you could i think a fact or a brief history of what your team has done would be fun and great to help me understand what some of the other schools have done in their history that i may not know about.
    I guess i will start with Owatonna-In the 2004-2005 season they went 60-1 and had their highest national ranking ever at number 5. The only team they lost to was Carl Sandburg, IL 31-18 at The Clash, where Owatonna was the runner up. That year they were led by Russell Smith to a state title. Durning their run the beat AV 4 straight times.
    Owatonna has had a state champ each of the last 4 years;
    2007 Pat Mahan(215 Lbs)-45-0 after state and then placed 4th at nationals
    2006 Derek Skala(160 Lbs)-41-5
    2005 Russell Smith(171 Lbs)-49-0(I'm not totally positive on the wins)
    2004 Alex Meger(103 Lbs)-49-0(Once again not totally positive on the win total)

Default Re: A Wrestling Fact About Your School

I've been a volunteer assistant high school coach here in Connecticut since probably before you were born, but I haven't followed my own high school team, so I can't tell you how they've been doing. Still, I'm happy to give you a bit of trivia about them. Brookline (Mass) High's first varsity wrestling match was in December of 1963, and victory was clinched in the 157 lb. weight class when a skinny junior with the nickname of Spider pinned his opponent with a half nelson and one-on-one.
    Atrophy: what you get when you win atournament.