Thread: Anxiety/Nervous before a match + other questions from a first year wrestler

Default Anxiety/Nervous before a match + other questions from a first year wrestler

Question 1: Hi, I am a first year wrestler and I never really played sports on a team before, so I am not good with handling the mental/nervous factor that comes with wrestling. I love wrestling, but I hate being nervous. I don't know why I'm nervous either. I am not afraid of getting hurt or getting a nose bleed. I am not afraid of the audience either. When I am warming up for my match, I feel all shaky. I keep thinking I am not stretched well enough and I have to yawn a lot. I am not hungry because I eat healthy and hydrate with water well. I tell my self I am going to win, I am going to rip his head off, I am the super saiyan, all sorts of stuff like that. However, the nervousness still gets to me. BUT, after I shake my opponents hand, all/most of it goes away and I just wrestle my heart out. Do you fellow wrestlers have any advice for getting rid of this nervousness before a match?

Question 2: On only one of my matches, I was intimated by my opponent and I let him control me for a bit in neutral. I guess it was the first time I had wrestled someone stronger than me because I could feel his strength pushing me. I am not asking about how to wrestle a stronger opponent, just how to get rid of the fear of wrestling someone you know is stronger than you physically.

Question 3: I notice that some wrestlers have a low stance in neutral right before the whistle is blown. Then, they dive with no good penetration step and get something like in this video.
    http://www.thewrestlingtalk.com/videos/VideoID-1600/
    Is it a good idea to do this? Should I back up a little when the whistle is blown just to avoid getting caught by this from a quick opponent?

Question 4: What is your favorite: Takedown, pinning combination, breakdown, standup/reversal?
    Mine is: