Thread: Greco Roman Wrestlers to Watch for 2012 Olympics

Default Greco Roman Wrestlers to Watch for 2012 Olympics

hello

i am new to wrestling. i am doing research on Greco Wrestling and the top names and / or long shots projected to be at the 2012 Olympics.

any thoughts out there of who to look out for? and countries or names of wrestlers who might be fun/less heard of longshots for the 2012 games.

any thoughts would be greatly appreciated for a novice like myself

thanks

Default Re: Greco Roman Wrestlers to Watch for 2012 Olympics

Might be a tad early for 2012 long shots, but some of the Euro followers might make a guess. It would be nice to have Mango, Byers, and Ruiz take home some hardware, but they need to work on par terre defense. And make the team. Predictions for Worlds in '11 might be easier. The thing I've noticed is that while you can expect some dominant guys to be on the podium in '12, guys like Lopez from Cuba, and Albiev from Russia, all the others, and those you haven't heard of, come out of the woodwork for the Olympics. Look at Andrea Minguzzi from ITA, he came completely out of the woodwork, but then, he was involved in that fiasco with Abrahamian (the one who threw his bronze medal).

So much comes down to your draw, how you feel that day, and a bunch of luck, like calls going your way. If you go back to Cejudo's gold, he got a great draw (the top guy was knocked off by a headlock in the upper bracket), wrestled very well, got some seriously good calls (eg, 3-1 when it could have been 2-2), one of his opponents stopped wrestling at the edge of the mat (he gutted the guy), etc. All the pieces came together for him and he didn't squander them. You have to be prepared to win.

So, while fun, it's hard to pick the favorites, let alone the longshots.

All that said, while I don't know the field that well, I like these guys: