Courtesy: CAA
Release: 03/05/2011

Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

The Pride won its ninth conference title in 10 years on Saturday.
View larger Courtesy: CAA
The Pride won its ninth conference title in 10 years on Saturday.

LAWRENCEVILLE, N.J. (March 5, 2011) - Hofstra pulled away from the field on the second day of the CAA Wrestling Championship at Rider's Alumni Gymnasium to notch its ninth conference title in the past 10 years. The Pride ended this year's championship with five champions, three runners-up, one third-place performer and a pair of fourth-place finishers.

Among Hofstra's champions was senior Lou Ruggirello, who will head to the NCAA Championship after capturing his fourth conference title at 133. Classmate Paul Snyder also concludes his CAA career on top after securing an 11-5 decision over Drexel sophomore Jack Callender.

Rider sophomore Zac Cibula took the title at 149 as the second seed with a 5-4 overtime decision over the nation's seventh-ranked wrestler in top-seeded Donnie Vinson. With his upset victory and fall in the semifinals, Cibula was named the CAA Championship's Most Outstanding Wrestler.

2010 champion Binghamton placed second with three champions, three runners-up and one third-place finisher. Stealing the show for the Bearcats was junior Justin Lister, who won at 165 as the fourth seed.

In all, five top seeds won their weight classes, while four second seeds captured titles. With the conference championship now in the books, the league is set to send at least 17 grapplers (listed below) to the NCAA Division I Championship, which will be held March 17-19 at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia.

For more information about the 2011 CAA Championship, please visit our Championship page.

Team Points

Hofstra 94

Binghamton 78.5

Old Dominion 52.5

Boston U. 46

Rider 43.5

Drexel 25.5

George Mason 6

CAA wrestlers qualifying for the NCAA Division I Championship:

125 - James Nicholson (ODU), Steve Bonanno (Hofstra)

133 - Lou Ruggirello (Hofstra), Kyle Hutter (ODU), Fred Santaite (BU)

141 - Anwar Goeres (Binghamton)

149 - Zac Cibula (Rider), Donnie Vinson (Binghamton)

157 - Matt Kaylor (Binghamton)

165 - Justin Lister (Binghamton), Paul Gillespie (Hofstra), Jim Resnick (Rider)

174 - Ryan Patrovich (Hofstra), Hunter Meys (BU)

184 - Ben Clymer (Hofstra)

197 - John Hall (BU)
285 - Paul Snyder (Hofstra)