Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Forum Speculation: When does it go too far?

Default Forum Speculation: When does it go too far?

Just wanted some opinions from people who are a lot more plugged into the forum culture than I am as i'm relatively new to it.

It seems that there is a lot of controversy on whether it is ok to speculate on a given topic by giving you opinion whether it is based on anything or not.

For example, there are numerous threads about Mason & Deitchler out there, no one seems to have much fact based info on what is going on with them. However there are a ton of opinions, and in a lot of cases posters are being accused of only starting rumers for stating theirs.

I think its ok to speculate, but if you have nothing more than a hunch, why throw it out there for others to take and run with?

Default Re: Forum Speculation: When does it go too far?

Some people just like to see their thoughts in print .I do not know Jake D but I am sure he is a fine young man --ALL I have ever said was that if he could have wrestled -he would have wrestled against ISU-that is it -yet someone thinks I am an expert ?? I am an expert at nothing and don't really care if Jake wrestles or not -Just seems the Minny coaches would keep their fans better informed .

I agree with you on the Minny coaches thing and I'm not trying to start another "where is Jake D" thread...there is enough of those already. I was just saying that reading through forums there is a differing opinion about if it is ok to speculate based on nothing.

If I said: in my opinion Jake D isn't wrestling because both his arms fell off; obviously I don't have evidence of this, but the next 20 posts would be criticizing me for starting a rumor.

Without statements coming from the coaches or media outlets all we can do is speculate to the best of our knowledge but it seems that some just come up with something off the top of their head and try to get people to go for it.