April 14, 2013

*Saturday,*April 13, 2013*
Third Floor - Reser Stadium
Oregon State assistant coach Kevin Roberts waits on stage to hand out post-season awards as announced by head coach Jim Zalesky. In all 10 different wrestlers took home hardware Saturday night, while sophomore Taylor Meeks led all wrestlers with three total awards won.
** Tweet
Meeks wins a trio of awards as 10 wrestlers take home hardware from a night celebrating OSU's best season in 17 years
CORVALLIS, Ore. - There was no shortage of smiles Saturday night on the third floor of Reser Stadium, where fans, alumni, coaches and student athletes celebrated the season gone by for the Oregon State wrestling program. The team held its annual post-season awards banquet, which was organized and put on by the program's official fan club, `The FALL'.
The 2012-13 season had many significant highlights, from a second straight team Pac-12 championship to crowning three All-Americans at NCAA's, those impressive achievements were celebrated with speeches, awards and ultimately a highlight video recapping all the wrestling action for the Beavers, since they first took to the mats in early November.
Head Coach Jim Zalesky, who wrapped up his seventh year on the OSU bench, proudly handed out hardware to his wrestlers, who worked hard for him on the mats and inside the classroom during the past season. Among the award winners Saturday night were redshirt freshman Aaron David for the highest GPA (3.77), freshman Joey Delgado for the hardest worker, senior Cody Weishoff for the most improved wrestler and redshirt freshman Drew Van Anrooy for most dedicated.
Other award winners included Weishoff and senior Ty Vinson for the team impact award, seniors Chad Hanke and Mike Mangrum, who shared the team leadership award as well as junior Scott Sakaguchi for the team hustle award.* Junior RJ Pena and sophomore Taylor Meeks shared the most pins award with their dozen, while Meeks, Pena and Sakaguchi each took home the All-American award with their fourth, and fifth place finishes at nationals.
Meeks made it a trio of awards for himself Saturday night, as he received the final and most prestigious recognition, winning the outstanding wrestler award, given to the highest placing student-athlete at NCAA's. The Ortig, Wash., native was the first OSU underclassmen to finish in the top five at the National Championships since Babak Mohammadi finished fifth in 1992 as a sophomore.
Craig Scharer, The Fall's president for 2013-13 was also given an award Saturday night as he was named booster of the year by the OSU staff.
Before the banquet concluded, all five seniors (Hanke, Anthony Harris, Mangrum, Vinson and Weishoff) gave speeches, thanking their teammates, coaches for the impact that was made on them in their OSU careers. Each speech had its own unique flair, but every one held the same message of gratitude toward the Orange and Black coaching staff and its unique support system.
Coach Zalesky then put a wrap on 2012-13 by giving his thoughts on the past five months in OSU wrestling and left everyone in attendance with one thing to remember heading into 2013-14, that all 2013 All-Americans will be returning in the fall.
Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the OurBeaverNation.com. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. Former Student-Athletes are invited to join the Varsity O Facebook Page for upcoming Alumni events.
Follow Oregon State Athletics On YouTube.