March 22, 2013

Friday, March 22, 2013*
Wells Fargo Arena / Des, Moines, Iowa
Junior 157 pounder RJ Pena won twice during Session III and is still in the hunt for a top eight finish in the wrestleback. His teammate Taylor Meeks (197 lbs.), advanced to the semifinal Friday night and earned All-American status in the process.
*1) Penn State 77.5 ----- 5
*2) Oklahoma State 65.5 12. 5
*3) Minnesota 49.5 18.0 2
*4) Iowa 39.0 28.5 2
*5) Missouri 38.5 29.0 3
*6) Cornell 37.0 30.5 3
*7)*Ohio State 30.5 47.0 2
*8) Edinboro 27.0 50.5 2
*8) Nebraska 27.0 50.5 1
*10) Oregon State 26.0 51.5 1
** Tweet
Two more victories for the Oregon State sophomore and he is a national champion, thanks to his pin in the NCAA Championship quarterfinals
DES MOINES, Iowa – Oregon State 197 lb. sophomore Taylor Meeks is just one win away from taking the mats for a chance to wrestle for a national championship, following a dramatic pin in the final seconds of his quarterfinals match, Friday morning at Wells Fargo Arena. Following Friday’s morning session, Oregon State is in 10th place with 26 points, just one behind eighth place Nebraska and Edinboro.
Meeks’ match with Alfonso Hernandez saw him down 5-2 but the underclassmen came back to reel off four unanswered points on a reversal and a near fall to take a 6-5 lead, with less than 10 seconds remaining. Meeks then pinned Hernandez at the 6:53 mark to send himself into the semi-finals and the orange clad OSU cheering section into a frenzy. The Ortig, Wash., native’s thrilling victory also assured him of All-American status for the 2012-13 season, meaning he will at least finish within the top eight* of the 197 lb. bracket.
In his semifinals match tonight, Meeks will take on No. 1 seed Dustin Kilgore from Kent State, who is 42-0 on the year.
In other OSU action, 141 lb. senior Mike Mangrum’s bid for a title run of his own came to an end in a heartbreaking match versus the Citadel’s Undrakhbayar (Ugi) Khishignyam, as Mangrum took his opponent to overtime. That’s where the four-time NCAA participant looked to avenge a loss to Khishignyam earlier in the year by reeling off a point for a reversal late in OT to take a 2-1 lead. A last second takedown by Khishignyam at the buzzer gave him a 3-2 decision despite an official review.
Mangrum’s 20-match win streak came to an end as a result, as did Chad Hanke’s, who dropped a hard fought bout to Northwestern’s Michael McMullan, 5-3.
Scott Sakaguchi (149 lbs.) and RJ Pena (157 lbs.), will also compete in wrestleback matches tonight as Sakaguchi dropped his quarterfinals match to Boise State’s Jason Chamberlain and Pena won his second and third straight bouts, defeating Rider’s Zac Cibula and Rutgers’ Scott Winston.
Pena will be taking on a familiar opponent in Boise State’s George Ivanov, as the pair have met a total of three times this*season, with Ivanov coming out on top twice. Mangrum’s matchup with Minnesota’s Nick Dardanes will also be a rematch, as he beat the Gopher 141 pounder by a 7-6 decision in December.
Complete Session III results can be found below, Session IV will be televised on ESPNU and OSU fans can catch live updates of each Oregon State bout by following OSU_Wrestling on twitter.
**Through Session III**

141 lbs.
No. 3 Mike Mangrum (2-1)
(3.21) Mike Mangrum def. Nicholas Hucke (Missouri) Dec. (6-4) OT
(3.21) Mike Mangrum def. Trevor Melde (Rutgers) Dec. (4-2)
(3.22) Undrakhbayar Khishignyam (Citadel) def. Mike Mangrum Dec. (3-2) 3OT
(3) Mike Mangrum (Oregon State) 39-5
(Fri. night)
(8) Nick Dardanes (Minnesota) 28-8
149 lbs.
No. 7 Scott Sakaguchi (2-1)
(3.21)* Scott Sakaguchi def. Blake Roulo (Buffalo) Dec. (12-5)
(3.21)* Scott Sakaguchi def. Ivan Lopouchanski (Purdue) Dec. (4-1)
(3.22) Jason Chamberlain (Boise State) def. Scott Sakaguchi Dec (3-2) 3OT
(7) Scott Sakaguchi (Oregon State) 27-7
(Fri. night)
(3) Donald Vinson (Binghampton) 33-2
157 lbs.
No. 10 RJ Pena (3-1)
(3.21) Josh Demas (Ohio State) def. RJ Pena Dec. (7-6)
(3.21) RJ Pena def. Luke Smith (Central Michigan) Pin (2:29)
(3.22) RJ Pena def. Zac Cibula (Rider) Dec. (10-4)
(3.22) RJ Pena def. Scott Winston (Rutgers) Dec. (8-1)
(10) RJ Pena (Oregon State) 34-7
(Fri. night)
George Ivanov (Boise State) 24-6
174 lbs.
Cody Weishoff (0-2)
No. 1 Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) def. Cody Weishoff Dec. (5-4)
Stephen West (Columbia) def. Cody Weishoff Dec. (4-2)
Cody Weishoff (Oregon State) 16-11
*Eliminated from tournament
184 lbs.
Ty Vinson (1-1)
(3.21)* No. 4 Steve Bosak (Cornell) def. Ty Vinson Maj. Dec. (12-0)
(3.21)* Ty Vinson def. John Rizqallah (Michigan State) Dec. (5-0)
(3.22) Daniel Rinaldi (Rutgers) def. Ty Vinson Dec. (3-2)
Ty Vinson (Oregon State) 17-12
**Vinson eliminated from the tournament**
197 lbs.
No. 5 Taylor Meeks (3-0)
(3.21)* Taylor Meeks def. Maxwell Huntley (Michigan) Pin (1:49)
(3.21)* Taylor Meeks def. Jackson Hein (Wisconsin) Dec. (4-3)
(3.22) Taylor Meeks def. Alfonso Hernandez (Wyoming) Pin (4:54)
(5) Taylor Meeks (Oregon State) 35-5
(Fri. night)
(1) Dustin Kilgore (Kent State) 42-0
No. 4 Chad Hanke (2-1)
(3.21) Chad Hanke def. Kevin Innis (Boston) Pin (0:41)
(3.21) Chad Hanke def. Ernest James (Edinboro) Dec. (4-0)
(3.22) Michael McMullan (Northwestern) def. Chad Hanke Dec. (5-3)
(4) Chad Hanke (Oregon State) 35-4
(Fri. night)
Odie Delaney (Citadel) 40-8
Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. Former Student-Athletes are invited to join the Varsity O Facebook Page for upcoming Alumni events.
Follow Oregon State Athletics On YouTube.