March 21, 2013

Thursday, March 21, 2013*
Wells Fargo Arena / Des, Moines, Iowa
Mike Mangrum's thrilling overtime sudden victory victory (6-4) over Missouri's Nicholas Huckle gave him 134 career wins, tying two-time NCAA Champion Les Gutches (1993-96; 177/90) on the all-time OSU Program list. Mangrum, along with three other of his teammates will continue to wrestle in the championship bracket Thursday night in des Moines
Oregon State earns nine points and goes 4-3 during the tournament's first session, a quartet will wrestle in the championship round Thursday night
DES MOINES, Iowa - Two pins highlighted Oregon State's first session of the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships as the Beavers sit in a three-way tie for fifth place, heading into the night session. The Beavers earned nine points Thursday morning as did Iowa State and Northern Iowa who are also fifth.
Mike Mangrum (141 lbs.) began the day's action for OSU with a thrilling 7-6 overtime decision over Missouri's Nicholas Hucke, followed by a win by Scott Sakaguchi (149 lbs.) with a 12-5 decision over Buffalo's Blake Roulo. Mangrum's victory gave him career win No. 134, which put him in a tie for fifth place with two-time National Champion Les Gutches (1993-96; 177/190) on the all-time OSU program list.
Taylor Meeks (197 lbs.) and heavyweight Chad Hanke closed out the morning session with back-to-back pins for the Beavs' as Meeks recorded a fall (1:49) against Michigan's Maxwell Huntley, while Hanke made quick work of Boston's Kevin Innis, pinning him just 41 seconds into the match. For Meeks, it was his third victory against Huntley this season in as many tries.
Below are the complete results from Session I, with a preview of OSU's night session matchups.
141 lbs.
No. 3 Mike Mangrum (1-0)
Mike Mangrum def. Nicholas Hucke (Missouri) Dec. (6-4) OT
(3) Mike Mangrum (Oregon State) 38-4
(Thurs. night)
Trevor Melde (Rutgers) 22-12
149 lbs.
No. 7 Scott Sakaguchi (1-0)
Scott Sakaguchi def. Blake Roulo (Buffalo) Dec. (12-5)
(7) Scott Sakaguchi (Oregon State) 26-6
(Thurs. night)
(10) Ivan Lopouchanski (Purdue) 29-2
157 lbs.
No. 10 RJ Pena (0-1)
Josh Demas (Ohio State) def. RJ Pena Dec. (7-6)
(10) RJ Pena (Oregon State)* 32-7
(Thurs. night)
Luke Smith (Central Michigan) 22-12
174 lbs.
Cody Weishoff (0-1)
No. 1 Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) def. Cody Weishoff Dec. (5-4)
Cody Weishoff (Oregon State)* 16-10
(Thurs. night)
Stephen West (Columbia) 23-9
184 lbs.
Ty Vinson (0-1)
No. 4 Steve Bosak (Cornell) def. Ty Vinson Maj. Dec. (12-0)
*Ty Vinson (Oregon State)* 16-11
(Thurs. night)
John Rizqallah (Michigan State) 23-11
197 lbs.
No. 5 Taylor Meeks (1-0)
Taylor Meeks def. Maxwell Huntley (Michigan) Pin (1:49)
(5) Taylor Meeks (Oregon State)* 33-5
(Thurs. night)
Jackson Hein (Wisconsin) 22-10
No. 4 Chad Hanke (1-0)
Chad Hanke def. Kevin Innis (Boston) Pin (0:41)
(4) Chad Hanke (Oregon State)* 34-3
(Thurs. night)
Ernest James (Edinboro) 24-12
Session II on Day No. 1 begins at 4:30 pm Pacific time Thursday, and can be watched live via ESPN3. For LIVE Oregon State match*updates follow OSU_Wrestling on Twitter
Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. Former Student-Athletes are invited to join the Varsity O Facebook Page for upcoming Alumni events.
Follow Oregon State Athletics On YouTube.