Oklahoma State Wrestling in 2nd at NCAAsThe Cowboys advance seven to the second round.

March 21, 2013
Session 1 team scores
Session 1 brackets
DES MOINES, Iowa--The Oklahoma State wrestling squad is in second place after winning seven of its ten matches in the first session of the NCAA tournament, giving the Cowboys 13 team points, trailing Penn State by only 1.5 points.
The first session for the Cowboys was highlighted by a pin from Alan Gelogaev and major decisions from Jon Morrison, Jordan Oliver, Alex Dieringer and Tyler Caldwell.
First up for the Cowboys, true freshman Eddie Klimara met up with Steve Mitcheff of Kent State for the second time this year but was defeated, 6-2.
No. 7 seed Morrison picked up the Cowboys' first win, avenging a loss from earlier this season to Kent State's Mackenzie Maguire with an 8-0 major decision.
At 141 pounds, Julian Feikert gave up a pin against Steven Keith of Harvard in 3:39.
Top-seeded Oliver began his run at a second national title with a 16-6 major decision over Edinboro's David Habat.
Making his NCAA tourney debut, Dieringer grabbed the Cowboys' third major decision of the day, defeating Ryan Watts from Michigan State, 9-1, and Caldwell followed suit with a 9-1 major decision of his own over Pierce Hager of Northwestern.
Chris Perry, the No. 1 seed at 174 pounds, edged Oregon State's Cody Weishoff with all but one of the bout's points coming from reversals.
At 184 pounds, Chris Chionuma suffered a tough 4-1 loss to Pittsburgh's Max Thomusseit, who he faced earlier in the season. *
Blake Rosholt earned the 3-2 win against Braden Atwood of Purdue at 197 pounds after the officials overturned a takedown that was awarded to Atwood in the last second of the match.
Gelogaev finished the session for the Cowboys with 18 seconds of dominance, pinning Ben Apland of Michigan at the 2:43 mark of the first period. Gelogaev's pin was the tournament's fastest of the day.
Tournament action resumes at 6:30 p.m. CT in Wells Fargo Arena.
Team standings
1. Penn State - 14.5 points
2. Oklahoma State - 13 points
3. Minnesota - 11 points
4. Iowa - 10 points
T5. Iowa State - 9 points
T5. Northern Iowa - 9 points
T5. Oregon State - 9 points
T8. Missouri - 8 points
T8. North Carolina - 8 points
10. Oklahoma - 7.5 points
Championship first round
125: Steve Mitcheff (Kent State) dec. Eddie Klimara (OSU), 6-2
133: Jon Morrison (OSU) MD Mackenzie Maguire (Kent State), 8-0
141: Steven Keith (Harvard) fall Julian Feikert (OSU), 3:39
149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD David Habat (Edinboro), 16-6
157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) MD Ryan Watts (Michigan State), 9-1
165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) MD Pierce Hager (Northwestern), 9-1
174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Cody Weishoff (Oregon State), 5-4
184: Max Thomusseit (Pittsburgh) dec. Chris Chionuma (OSU), 4-1
197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) dec. Braden Atwood (Purdue), 3-2
285: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) fall Ben Apland (Michigan), 2:42
Championship second round schedule
133: Jon Morrison (OSU) vs. Scotti Sentes (Central Michigan)
149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) vs. Derek Valenti (Virginia)
157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) vs. Spartak Chino (Ohio)
165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) vs. Josh Condon (Chattanooga)
174: Chris Perry (OSU) vs. Jonathan Fausey (Virginia)
197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) vs. Kyven Gadson (Iowa State)
285: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) vs. Jeremy Johnson (Ohio)
Consolation first round schedule
125: Eddie Klimara (OSU) vs. Max Soria (Buffalo)
141: Julian Feikert (OSU) vs. Joseph Spisak (Virginia)
184: Chris Chionuma (OSU) vs. MacKain Stoll (North Dakota State)