March 11, 2013
Head Coach Jim Zalesky will be watching intently as he looks to bring eight wrestlers to NCAA’s for the third straight season
INDIANAPOLIS – With a total of seven wrestlers already having their ticket punched to the 2013 NCAA Division I Championships in Des Moines, Iowa, Oregon State coaches and student-athletes will be watching Wednesday afternoon to see if any additional Beavers will be headed to the Midwest next week.
The official announcement will come via the NCAA’s Championship site at 3 p.m. Pacific Time, and is going to be streamed on Not only will the show provide a look at who is going to compete in the annual tournament but it will also unveil the first round match-ups between wrestlers at each weight class as well as individual seedings.
The Pac-12 Conference has been allotted 21 slots for the NCAA Championships, with the most coming at heavyweight (4) and 174/184 lbs., with three. The remaining weight classes in the conference will have two representatives with the exception of 125 lbs., 141 lbs., and 165 lbs., who all claim one a piece.
Oregon State’s Mike Mangrum has already sewn up the 141 lb. slot with his second straight Pac-12 Championship, two weekends ago in Tempe. Joining Mangrum, who will be making his fourth appearance at NCAA’s, will be junior 149 pounder Scott Sakaguchi (3rd appearance), 157 lb. junior RJ Pena (3rd), as well as 184 lb. senior Ty Vinson (2nd).


An additional four team-members will be making their first ever NCAA appearance including senior 174 pounder Cody Weishoff, 184 lb. senior Ty Vinson, sophomore 197 pounder Taylor Meeks and senior heavyweight Chad Hanke.The only two wrestlers to place at Nationals previously are Mangrum who finished fifth at 141 lbs. last season and Sakaguchi who was seventh overall at 149 lbs. in 2012. As a team, Oregon State finished 10th last year and will be looking to finish higher than that for the first time since 1998, when they were ninth overall.
If more wrestlers are added to Oregon State’s list, it will be the third time in the last three years that head coach Jim Zalesky has brought at least eight of his athletes to NCAA’s.
The 2013 NCAA Championships will take place at the Wells Fargo center in Des Moines and will be hosted by Iowa State.
NCAA Live Stream Link: