Six Cowboy Wrestlers Named to Academic All-Big 12 TeamChris Perry earns his third honor.

March 6, 2013
STILLWATER—The Big 12 Conference*has*announced*that*six Oklahoma State wrestlers*have been named*to the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 wrestling team.
OSU’s honorees include Chris Chionuma, Chris Perry, Jordan Oliver, Tommy Diaz, Joe Ali and Alex Dieringer.*The Cowboys*and*West Virginia*led the league with six selections each.
Chionuma and Perry were named first-team*all-league. It marks Perry’s third time to be named to one of the squads.
Senior Jordan Oliver, who will graduate with a degree in education in May, was selected as a second-team member. He is joined by seniors Tommy Diaz and Joe Ali. Academically a sophomore, Alex Dieringer also earned second-team recognition.
The 2013 team is made up of 18 student-athletes, including10 first team honorees and eight second team selections.
First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.


To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.*
2013 Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling Team
First team (3.20-plus GPA)
Chris Perry, Oklahoma State
Chris Chionuma, Oklahoma State
Max Mayfield, Iowa State
Dillon Dennis, Oklahoma
Patrick Graham, Oklahoma
Kendric Maple, Oklahoma
Amador Ayala, West Virginia
Michael Bolash, West Virginia
Lance Bryson, West Virginia
Philip Manzdik, West Virgina
Second team (3.00-3.19 GPA)
Alex Dieringer, Oklahoma State
Jordan Oliver, Oklahoma State
Tommy Diaz, Oklahoma State
Joe Ali, Oklahoma State
Boaz Beard, Iowa State
Nolan McBryde, Oklahoma
Nathan Pennesi, West Virginia
Jeffrey Yeatman, West Virginia