PHILADELPHIA -- Five members of the Minnesota wrestling program clinched All-America honors on Friday night at the 2011 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in Philadelphia, Pa. All five Gophers remain active in the consolation brackets as Minnesota sits in ninth place in the team standings with 49.5 points. Penn State leads the NCAA championships with 92.5 points. Zach Sanders clinched All-America honors for the third time in his career on Friday night while Sonny Yohn and Mike Thorn each earned their second-career All-America honor. Redshirt freshmen Kevin Steinhaus and Tony Nelson both captured the prestigious honor in their first appearance at the national championships.

Sanders sealed his third All-America honor with a 6-5 win over Matthew Snyder of Virginia in the 125 lbs. consolation brackets and added another win later in the evening session, this time a 4-2 sudden victory win over Jarrod Patterson of Oklahoma to advance to Sunday morning. The redshirt junior will take on three-seed Brandon Precin of Northwestern in the consolation semifinals tomorrow morning.

Thorn, a 2010 All-American who already sealed his second All-America honor heading into the semis, had his national championship hopes dashed by three seed Boris Novachkov of Cal Poly. Thorn, seeded second at 141 lbs., fell via 9-3 decision when Novachov tallied takedowns in the first and third periods with a three-point nearfall following his second takedown. Cal Poly's 141-pounder added a bonus point with the riding time bonus. Thorn recorded three escapes in the loss, which dropped his season record to 37-5. The redshirt senior will meet Illinois' James Kennedy tomorrow morning for chance to wrestle for third.

Steinhaus opened the evening by clinching All-America honors in his first NCAA championships appearance. The redshirt freshman opened Session IV with a 7-1 decision over Chris Perry of Oklahoma but fell to Joe LeBlanc of Wyoming 11-9 in his final match of the evening. He'll wrestle Travis Rutt of Wisconsin tomorrow in the seventh-place match.

Yohn picked up his second career All-America honor after opening Session IV with a 2-1 decision over Zac Thomusseit of Pitt, but fell in the follow up to Stanford's Zac Giesen 3-2. The redshirt junior will Matt Powless for the second time this week tomorrow morning for seventh. Powless knocked Yohn out of the championship round on Thursday with a 5-3 decision.

Nelson was the fifth and final Gopher to pick up All-America honors, scoring a 3-2 win in the first tiebreaker over Oklahoma's Nathan Fernandez to pick up All-America honors in his first NCAA appearance. Nelson wouldn't be able to replicate his tiebreaker win in the evening's final matchup, dropping a 2-1 contest in the first tiebreaker session to Maryland's Spencer Myers. Nelson will close out the NCAA tournament against Arizona State's Levi Cooper in the heavyweight seventh-place match.

125: Zach Sanders

First Round: #5 Zach Sanders (MINN) dec. Jason Lara (ORST) 6-2

Second Round: #5 Zach Sanders (MINN) dec. #12 Jason Garnett (VATECH) 8-6

Quarterfinals: Ben Kjar (UTAHV) dec. #5 Zach Sanders (MINN) 5-3

Consolations: #5 Zach Sanders (MINN) dec. Matthew Snyder (UVA) 6-5

Consolations: #5 Zach Sanders (MINN) SV #8 Jarrod Patterson 4-2

133: David Thorn

First Round: David Thorn (MINN) SV. Jordan Thome (ARMY) 6-4

Second Round: #3 Andrew Long (PSU) SV. David Thorn (MINN) 7-5

Consolations: David Thorn (MINN) dec. Ian Paddock (OSU) 8-2

Consolations: #6 Tony Ramos (Iowa) SV David Thorn (MINN) 7-5

141: Mike Thorn

First Round: #2 Mike Thorn (MINN) dec. Darius Little (NCSU) 2-1

Second Round: #2 Mike Thorn (MINN) dec. Nick Nelson (UVA) 6-1

Quarterfinals: #2 Mike Thorn (MINN) fall #10 Todd Schavrien (MIZZ) 2:03

Semifinals: #3 Boris Novachkov (CPOLY) dec. #2 Mike Thorn (MINN) 9-3

149: Danny Zilverberg

First Round: #5 Jamal Parks (OKST) dec. Danny Zilverberg (MINN) 6-3

Consolations: #12 Desi Green (BUFF) dec. Danny Zilverberg (MINN) 8-5

165: Cody Yohn

First Round: Eren Civan (COLUM) fall #12 Cody Yohn (MINN) 2:28

Consolations: #12 Cody Yohn (MINN) fall Chad Porter (LIBTY) 1:40

Consolations: Brandon Hatchett (LEHI) dec. #12 Cody Yohn (MINN) 8-3

174: Scott Glasser

First Round: Scott Glasser (MINN) dec. Patrick Martinez (WYO) 10-3

Second Round: #2 Ed Ruth (PSU) dec. Scott Glasser (MINN) 5-3

Consolations: Scott Glasser (MINN) dec. Eric Starks (AZST) 6-0

Consolations: #10 Nick Heflin (OSU) SV Scott Glasser (MINN) 4-2

184: Kevin Steinhaus

First Round: #8 Kevins Steinhaus (MINN) dec. Jason McCroskey (WYO) 10-3

Second Round: #9 Quentin Wright (PSU) dec. #8 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) 8-4

Consolations: #8 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) dec. Brad Dieckhaus (NIU) 10-7

Consolations: #8 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) dec. Luke Rebertus (NAVY) 4-1

Consolations: #8 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) dec. #7 Chris Perry (OKST) 7-1

Consolations: #7 Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming) dec. #8 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) 11-9

197: Sonny Yohn

First Round: #9 Sonny Yohn (MINN) dec. Anthony Biondo (MICH) 6-1

Second Round: #8 Matt Powless (IND) SV. #9 Sonny Yohn (MINN) 5-3

Consolations: #9 Sonny Yohn (MINN) dec. Chad Hanke (ORST) 5-3

Consolations: #9 Sonny Yohn (MINN) dec. Andy Johnson (NEB) 3-1

Consolations: #9 Sonny Yohn (MINN) dec. #7 Zac Thomusseit (PITT) 2-1

Consolations: #12 Zack Giesen (STAN) dec. #9 Sonny Yohn (MINN) 3-2

285: Tony Nelson

First Round: #8 Tony Nelson (MINN) SV. Christian Brantley (UNI) 3-1

Second Round: #9 Cameron Wade (PSU) dec. #8 Tony Nelson (MINN) 4-1

Consolations: #8 Tony Nelson (MINN) dec. Ben Apland (MICH) 2-0

Consolations: #8 Tony Nelson (MINN) dec. #6 Ryan Tomei (PITT) 10-3

Consolations: #8 Tony Nelson (MINN) TB1 #10 Nathan Fernandez (OKLA) 3-2

Consolations: Spencer Myers (MARY) TB1 #8 Tony Nelson 2-1

Continue reading "Gophers Clinch Five All-America Honors"