Feb. 25, 2011

MADISON, Wis. -- As the Wisconsin wrestling team prepares to step on the mat for the Big Ten Championships March 5-6, some members of its 2011 signing class have already captured their final state titles, while others or look to do so in the next two weeks.

In November, the Badgers signed six new wrestlers for the Class of 2011, marking one of the program's top recruiting classes in UW wrestling history. The Class of 2011 includes Connor Medbery, Cody Caldwell, Destin McCauley, Matt Kelliher, Ryan McQuade and Jesse Thielke.

A member of the Loveland High School wrestling squad, Medbery (Loveland, Colo.), tallied his third state title at heavyweight at the Colorado State High School Wrestling Championships on Feb. 19. At the Pepsi Center in Denver, he dropped Heritage High School's Jeremy Todd in the title match with a pin at 4:21. Medbery pinned every opponent he encountered in 2010-11, finishing his season with a 44-0 record, including five wins by forfeit and 39 by fall. Completing his high school career with a 163-2 mark, the future Badger has not lost a regular season match since the Class 5A state wrestling tournament his freshman year.

Also conquering his third state title was Waverly-Shell Rock's Caldwell. The Waverly, Iowa native, helped his team to its fourth-consecutive state championship at the Iowa State Wrestling Championships in Des Moines, Iowa, last Saturday. At 152 lbs., Caldwell captured the state title by slating a 9-3 victory over Trey Lewis of West Des Moines Valley.*

Yet to complete their quest for state titles are Apple Valley High School westlers McCauley (Burnsville, Minn.) and Kelliher (Burnsville, Minn.). The Minnesota State High School Wrestling tournament is set to take place March 3-5 at the Xcel Energy Center in Minneapolis, Minn.

Competing this weekend at the Wisconsin State High School Championships are Appleton West High School's McQuade (Appleton, Wis.) and Germantown High School's Thielke. The tournament is currently taking place at the Kohl Center in Madison, Wis.

Check back to UWBadgers.com for more information on McCauley, Kelliher, McQuade and Thielke as the high school championship season continues.