AMES, Iowa - The Iowa State wrestling team will be competing in to its last dual meet of the 2010-2011 season Sunday at No. 14 Nebraska.* The Cyclones will play host to the Big 12 Wrestling Championship March 5 in Ames.* The NCAA Championships*are March 17-19 in Philadelphia, Pa.


Iowa State vs. Nebraska

Sunday at 2 p.m. CST
Feb. 20, Lincoln, Neb.
Devaney Center
Live stats available at
Clone Zone members can watch the meet live, click here to launch the video portal

Cyclone Notebook

The Cyclones are 9-9 in dual competition this season, with victories over Virginia Tech, Kent State, Boston University, Old Dominion, Northern Illinois, American, Northern Iowa and Arizona State.

Iowa State placed eighth at the National Duals, Jan. 8-9 in the UNI-Dome.

Jon Reader (174-lbs.) has a 31-0 record this season, and has won titles at the Hokie Open, the Harold Nichols Open and the Midlands Championships. Reader is also the top-ranked wrestler in the country according to and WIN Magazine.

Chris Drouin (141-lbs.) and Chris Spangler (165-lbs.) joined Jon Reader on the stand at Midlands with fourth-and sixth-place finishes. Iowa State finished in eighth place as a team.

Iowa State boasts a line-up that includes four wrestlers rated in the top 20 of their respective weight classes.

The Cyclones defeated in-state rival Northern Iowa 21-20. Junior heavyweight Kyle Simonson defeated Blayne Beale by a score of 3-2 to seal the victory for the Cyclones.

Matt Gibson (HWT) and Jon Reader were both crowned champions at the Hokie Open.

In his first appearance in Hilton Coliseum, sophomore Patrick Hunter (125-lbs) sent the crowd to its feet with a second-period pin against Boston University.

Iowa State lost at Missouri, 23-11 Sunday. Jon Reader won by technical fall, while Andrew Sorenson and Jerome Ward both picked up victories over top-15 opponents.

Iowa State vs. Nebraska Notes*

Iowa State leads the all-time series against Nebraska 80-14-2. The last meeting between the two teams was won by the Cyclones 34-7 in Ames, Iowa on Feb. 21, 2010.

Scouting The Cornhuskers

Nebraska is led by 2009 NCAA Champion Jordan Burroughs. He is undefeated and the top-ranked 165-pound wrestler in the country.

Nebraska has four nationally ranked wrestlers; Jordan Burroughs (165 lbs.), Josh Ihnen (184 lbs.), Andy Johnson (197 lbs.), and Tucker Lane (HWT).

Nebraska is currently 13-5 in dual meets and 1-2 in Big 12 competition with a 17-16 victory over Missouri.