Northwestern senior Jake Herbert, a two-time NCAA champion and this year's Hodge Trophy winner as college wrestling's most dominant performer, has been named the 2009 recipient of the prestigious Jesse Owens Athlete of the Year Award as the top male athlete across all sports in the Big Ten Conference. Herbert is NU's second Jesse Owens honoree--following golfer Luke Donald in 1999--since the award's inception in 1982.

Continue reading "Big Ten Conference Selects Jake Herbert as Jesse Owens Award Winner"