Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 9 of 31

Thread: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Administrator Gold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, OH
    Posts
    5,188

    Default Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    So when do you guys want to have the draft? Last year the season started around October 14. I assume it will be about the same time, but I don't know when the first competition is.

    I think last year the other league had some success banging the draft out over a weekend and it went rather smoothly. We could do that if we could find a good time, or if we can do it the traditional, drawn out way.

    Also, it would be a good idea for everyone to review the rules again and see if anything jumps out as needing a little tweaking. Lastly, let me know if there are any more tournaments we should consider adding.


  2. #2
    Administrator Gold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, OH
    Posts
    5,188

    Default Re: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    Russ just came up with a fantastic idea: do the draft using the chat feature of this site--it should go much quicker.


  3. #3

    Default Re: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Gold View Post
    Russ just came up with a fantastic idea: do the draft using the chat feature of this site--it should go much quicker.
    Is your vision with the chat that we would send you our pick via the chat and you would post that pick on a thread?
    To avoid criticism say nothing, do nothing, be nothing.

  4. #4
    Administrator Gold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, OH
    Posts
    5,188

    Default Re: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by vaisforlovers View Post
    Is your vision with the chat that we would send you our pick via the chat and you would post that pick on a thread?
    Yes. If everyone had some rankings printed out it would more or less go as quickly as a live fantasy football draft, but like you said it would be really hard to find a time when everyone could do it.


  5. #5

    Default Re: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    I like doing the draft over a few days like we have in the past. It makes it possible to go on with daily activities without having to sit by your computer for hours at a time. My weekends are all tied up through the end of October with a couple of weddings and houses that I have committed to roof over the weeekends. When everyone has a couple of hours to make their pick it gives them a chance to go on with their busy days while checking on the draft periodically. Having the draft last a couple of days, for me, is actually more fun than banging it out. I look forward to those days of the draft. For convenience reasons and entertainment purposes I vote to keep doing it the way we have done it the past couple of years.
    THE MOST POWERFUL WEAPON ON EARTH IS THE HUMAN SOUL ON FIRE

    "I like to relax with a chainsaw." Tom Brands 12/4/09

  6. #6
    Administrator Gold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, OH
    Posts
    5,188

    Default Re: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Herkey#1 View Post
    It makes it possible to go on with daily activities without having to sit by your computer for hours at a time.
    Speak for yourself Brother, speak for yourself. Ha. Like I said I'm open to doing it either way.


  7. #7

    Default Re: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    First of all lets make sure we do it later than we did last year. Try to coordinate it right before the first matches of the year. I don't remember how long it took last year though.

    I like the chat idea, but just based on how our fantasy football league has been, I think it'll be hard to coordinate a time that everyone could reach. However, if we could all get together in the evenings every night for an hour or 2 we could knock it out in very very short order.
    To avoid criticism say nothing, do nothing, be nothing.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    I trust Golds leadership to choose the best scored tournaments.
    Last edited by vaisforlovers; 11-07-2010 at 09:27 AM.
    To avoid criticism say nothing, do nothing, be nothing.

  9. #9
    Administrator Gold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, OH
    Posts
    5,188

    Default Re: Draft Date 2010-11, Review Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by vaisforlovers View Post
    Can we add ALL STAR, PSACS, missouri open, and possibly EMU and Binghamton open. It'd be nice to be aligned with the JensenS league on this.
    We already have the All Star Classic and Mizzou Open. I think EMU is generally a very weak tournament (unless you're a backup), and I don't know much about PSACS and Binghampton. With that said, I don't really have a problem adding them if a couple other people want it (especially if it's easy to find their results).
    Last edited by Gold; 09-07-2010 at 06:50 AM.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •