Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 9 of 13

Thread: Question cutting a guy.

  1. #1

    Default Question cutting a guy.

    Can someone explain to me the rule on when the ref will award the escape point when you are cutting a guy. It seems a little inconsistent from what I saw. I was pretty suprised in the 149 final on the 2nd to last cut Metcalf attempted. DC was flat on his belly face down and Metcalf cut him. DC stayed down on the mat and Metcalf was fully disengaged and circled around front. The ref did not award the escape. Ended up calling them out of bounds right before the infamous final 3 seconds.

    Any way seemed odd that if a guy just lays there that you essentially can't cut him. Hell just be up by 1-2 going into the 3rd take down and take a nap....

  2. #2

    Default Re: Question cutting a guy.

    I believe he needs to be cut and on his knees, making progress towards standing up before a point is awarded.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Question cutting a guy.

    Thx!

    So you could just lay there and take the stalling call(s) and not give up the position? If so I'm guessing you could burn a good 10-20 seconds there and just take your warnings. Strange!

  4. #4

    Default Re: Question cutting a guy.

    Metcalf's (and most of the rest of Iowa's team) problem was when he cuts people he's fallen in love with just pushing on them the whole time and expecting the ref to add the escape.

    Most refs will call the escape eventually, but when you're stressed for time its really not the best idea in my opinion.

    He should have stood up, truly disengaged meaning not been touching Caldwell at all and then jumped back down on him. Caldwell was sprawled out flat, so Metcalf should have been able to jump back on/tackle him to get his next 2.

  5. #5
    Administrator Gold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, OH
    Posts
    5,188

    Default Re: Question cutting a guy.

    Quote Originally Posted by JensenS View Post
    ...when he cuts people he's fallen in love with...
    Interesting insight, JensenS. I'd never looked at it from that angle.


  6. #6

    Default Re: Question cutting a guy.

    The way the rule is written with riding time, when a top man uses the optional start, you have to give one second of riding time but then that's it. I've never seen an inconsistency of when the refs call it. The refs have their issues, but that has never been one to me.

  7. #7
    Ancient Arachnid Spider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,424

    Default Re: Question cutting a guy.

    I'm not as familiar with college rules as I am with high school, but I believe that if the top man comes around front and breaks contact long enough for the bottom man to react, it's an escape even if the bottom man stays flat.

    In high school, if the top man wants to cut the bottom man, he can signal neutral to the ref instead of taking the top referee's position. The bottom man is awarded one point and they start in the neutral position. Is this option available in college?
    Atrophy: what you get when you win atournament.

  8. #8
    Olympic Champ therick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    2,052

    Default Re: Question cutting a guy.

    Metcalf's (and most of the rest of Iowa's team) problem was when he cuts people he's fallen in love with just pushing on them the whole time and expecting the ref to add the escape.

    I've always questioned the escapes given, when the top guy simply comes around front, but continues to keep both hands and all of his weight on the back of the bottom guy's head. The bottom guy in that position is still in jeapardy and has not been released. I've actually seen Metcalf come around front like that, the escape was awarded and he just spun back around and was awarded another takedown. At no point was there a loss of contact, or control, and yet an escape and a takedown were awarded. To me that's BS, but I don't know what interpretation of the rule the officials are instructed to use.

    I think that's the cause of frontqtr's confusion. Was he not awarded that last escape because he hadn't come around front? Was it because Caldwell was still on his belly? I don't know the answer to either of those questions. I am, however, getting my officials license this spring, so hopefully I'll have a better handle on it by next season.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Question cutting a guy.

    Metcalf came around front and DC just laid on the mat. Metcalf wasn't touching him but, no escape was awarded and stalling wasn't called either. Actually Metcalf came around the front because Caldwell made no attempt to get to his base and face Metcalf.
    RIP Jacob Schlottke; KR1963 and rpayton




Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •