Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 9 of 68
Discuss 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks (All Weights Posted) at the College Wrestling within the Wrestling Talk Forums; Slowly and agonizingly picking my way through the brackets right now trying to settle on ...
  1. #1
    Administrator JensenS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    19,925
    Blog Entries
    56

    Default 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks (All Weights Posted)

    Slowly and agonizingly picking my way through the brackets right now trying to settle on picks that I like.

    Once I settle on them rather than writing an agonizingly long sermon about each weight class what I'm going to do instead is post the picks (maybe with a little commentary) along with my picks from the Summer, the Preseason, and the Mid Season just so I (and you if you're interested) can see how they've evolved since last June.

    As always feel free to post your own, argue for someone you think should be on mine, or just call me an idiot who is bound to be wrong.
    Last edited by JensenS; 03-13-2011 at 12:05 PM.
    RIP Jacob Schlottke - 1984-2011

    "If Cornell finishes ahead of Iowa with five all americans I'll jump into the Des Moines River after finals." -Herkey#1 8/16/12

  2. #2
    Administrator vaisforlovers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    9,931

    Default Re: 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks

    Worst avatar to date JensenS.
    To avoid criticism say nothing, do nothing, be nothing.

  3. #3
    Administrator JensenS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    19,925
    Blog Entries
    56

    Default Re: 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks

    I don't think I included criticizing my sense of decorum in the permissible behaviors in this thread, sir...

    125

    Pre-NCAA's
    1. #1 Anthony Robles (Arizona State)
    2. #2 Matt McDonough (Iowa)
    3. #3 Brandon Precin (Northwestern)
    4. #5 Zach Sanders (Minnesota)
    5. #10 Alan Waters (Missouri)
    6. #4 James Nicholson (Old Dominion)
    7. #6 Nic Bedelyon (Kent State)
    8. #8 Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma)
    R12. #12 Jarrod Garnett (Virginia Tech), US Mark Rappo (Penn), #7 Ryan Mango (Stanford), #8 Jon Morrison (Oklahoma State)

    Semi's Match Ups: Robles v. Sanders, Precin v. McDonough
    Round of 12 Match Ups: Garnett v. Bedelyon, Rappo v. Waters, Mango v. Patterson, Morrison v. Nicholson

    Season Review

    Mid Season
    1. Anthony Robles (Arizona State)
    2. Matt McDonough (Iowa)
    3. Brandon Precin (Northwestern)
    4. Zach Sanders (Minnesota)
    5. James Nicholson (Old Dominion)
    6. Jon Morrison (Oklahoma State)
    7. Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma)
    8. Alan Waters (Missouri)
    R12. Nic Bedelyon (Kent State), Jarrod Garnett (Virginia Tech), Ryan Mango (Stanford), Jason Lara (Oregon State)

    Preseason
    1. Matt McDonough (Iowa)
    2. Brandon Precin (Northwestern)
    3. Zach Sanders (Minnesota)
    4. Anthony Robles (Arizona State)
    5. Logan Stieber (Ohio State)
    6. Jarrod Garnett (Virginia Tech)
    7. Frank Perrelli (Cornell)
    8. James Nicholson (Old Dominion)
    R12. Cashe Quiroga (Purdue), Nic Bedelyon (Kent State), Jason Lara (Oregon State), Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma)

    Mid-Summer
    1. Matt McDonough (Iowa)
    2. Brandon Precin (Northwestern)
    3. Zach Sanders (Minnesota)
    4. Anthony Robles (Arizona State)
    5. Logan Stieber (Ohio State)
    6. Frank Perrelli (Cornell)
    7. James Nicholson (Old Dominion)
    8. Brad Pataky (Penn State)
    R12. Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma), Jon Morrison (Oklahoma State), Anthony Zanetta (Pittsburgh), Ryak Finch (Iowa State)
    Last edited by JensenS; 03-10-2011 at 11:07 AM.
    RIP Jacob Schlottke - 1984-2011

    "If Cornell finishes ahead of Iowa with five all americans I'll jump into the Des Moines River after finals." -Herkey#1 8/16/12

  4. #4
    #1 Homer Herkey#1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4,688

    Default Re: 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks (125 Posted)

    I don't think it's wise to underestimate McDonough. If the seeding committee really wanted Robles to win, like I think they do, they should've put Matt at #1 because I think he will use this as a little extra motivation.

    I like your picks though I would switch the top two.
    THE MOST POWERFUL WEAPON ON EARTH IS THE HUMAN SOUL ON FIRE

    "I like to relax with a chainsaw." Tom Brands 12/4/09

  5. #5
    Olympic Champ
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,801

    Default Re: 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks

    Those look pretty good to me. I would swap #4 Sanders with #6 Nicholoson (I know you're a Gopher fan!). #7-12 could go in almost any order for me. I guess Morrison's staph infection is a variable we don't know about at this time. I definitely think Robles will win it all this year.

  6. #6
    National Finalist tigerfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    775

    Default Re: 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks (125 Posted)

    I too, like where Waters is at and think he's got a great shot at the 5/6th match. Don't know if he beats Nicholson or Sanders, but a good performance should garner him AA, that's for sure.

  7. #7
    Administrator JensenS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    19,925
    Blog Entries
    56

    Default Re: 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks (125 Posted)

    I've got Sanders and Waters wrestling in one of my consi semi's, and I think that despite Waters' body type (tall) he's a guy who Sanders shouldn't have a ton of trouble with because he doesn't couple explosive offense from his feet along with being tall and good on top.

    Will continue to give you mad props for calling Waters before the season.
    RIP Jacob Schlottke - 1984-2011

    "If Cornell finishes ahead of Iowa with five all americans I'll jump into the Des Moines River after finals." -Herkey#1 8/16/12

  8. #8
    AA oldfart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Finger Lakes
    Posts
    665

    Default Re: 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks (125 Posted)

    Quote Originally Posted by Herkey#1 View Post
    I don't think it's wise to underestimate McDonough. If the seeding committee really wanted Robles to win, like I think they do, they should've put Matt at #1 because I think he will use this as a little extra motivation.

    I like your picks though I would switch the top two.
    I agree that it is not wise to underestimate this kid. His attitude seems to have changed from his freshman year, where he was kind of fresh-faced and maybe even a little bashful acting, at least off the mat. This year he seems to be wrestling with a little more physicality and it seems like the matches are more personal to him as well. The Brands' attitude seems to be rubbing off, and this #2 seed will fuel him quite a bit. Still not sure he beats Robles but to count him out would not be smart.

  9. #9
    Administrator JensenS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    19,925
    Blog Entries
    56

    Default Re: 2011 All American Predictions: Season Review/NCAA Picks (125 Posted)

    I fail to see how I'm "underestimating" or "counting out" McDonough. I just think based off the improvements that Robles has made from the neutral position in terms of getting to and finishing his own offense along with the fact that the first time they see each other will be in the finals that Robles beats him.

    I articulated this same argument in my picks thread back in January.

    133

    Pre NCAA's
    1. #1 Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State)
    2. #2 Andrew Hochstrasser (Boise State)
    3. #3 Andrew Long (Penn State)
    4. #4 Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)
    5. #6 Tony Ramos (Iowa)
    6. #9 Devin Carter (Virginia Tech)
    7. #5 Lou Ruggirello (Hofstra)
    8. #7 BJ Futrell (Illinois)
    R12. #12 Kyle Hutter (Old Dominion), #8 Mike Grey (Cornell), US Frank Cagnina (Lehigh), US Garrett Drucker (Oregon State)

    Semi's Match Ups: Oliver v. Graff, Long v. Hochstrasser
    Round of 12 Match Ups: Hutter v. Ramos, Grey v. Futrell, Cagnina v. Carter, Drucker v. Ruggirello

    Despite the fact that this is the first time he's appeared in the AA group on any of my lists this year I can't help but feel kind of validated by Tony Ramos' success over the second half of the year.

    Given how badly people beat on me last summer for making the argument that he was good enough to where Iowa should have moved McDonough up.

    Season Review

    Mid Season
    1. Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State)
    2. Andrew Hochstrasser (Boise State)
    3. Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)
    4. Andrew Long (Penn State)
    5. Devin Carter (Virginia Tech)
    6. Rollie Peterkin (Penn)
    7. Lou Ruggirello (Hofstra)
    8. BJ Futrell (Illinois)
    R12. Tony Ramos (Iowa), Scott Sentes (Central Michigan), Kyle Hutter (Old Dominion), Filip Novachkov (Cal Poly)

    Preseason
    1. Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)
    2. Andrew Hochstrasser (Boise State)
    3. Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State)
    4. Mike Grey (Cornell)
    5. Lou Ruggirello (Hofstra)
    6. Eric Grajales (Michigan)
    7. Scott Sentes (Central Michigan)
    8. Filip Novachkov (Cal Poly)
    R12. Kelly Kubec (Oregon State), Michael Martinez (Wyoming), Nate Moore (Iowa), Eric Morrill (Edinboro)

    Mid Summer
    1. Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)
    2. Andrew Hochstrasser (Boise State)
    3. Andrew Long (Iowa State)
    4. Boris Novachkov (Cal Poly)
    5. Jarrod Garnett (Virginia Tech)
    6. Mike Grey (Cornell)
    7. Lou Ruggirello (Hofstra)
    8. Scott Sentes (Central Michigan)
    R12. Nikko Triggas (Ohio State), Michael Martinez (Wyoming), David Thorn (Minnesota), Nic Bedelyon (Kent State)
    RIP Jacob Schlottke - 1984-2011

    "If Cornell finishes ahead of Iowa with five all americans I'll jump into the Des Moines River after finals." -Herkey#1 8/16/12

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

user tags

2011 ncaa wrestling predictions

ncaa 2011 picks

ncaa all american 2011

2011 all american ncaa

wrestling prediction ncaa 2011

wrestling results levalley vs. chamberlain

ncaaf predictions with steve lassan

steve 2011 ncaa picks

ncaa wrestling picksncaa wrestling predictionssteve ncaa picks 2011NCAA 2011 All Americanncaa 2011 wrestling predictionscollege wrestling 2011 top 10 picks2011 NCAA Wrestling All American Predictionsncaa wrestling 2011 predictionsMy picks for All-American wresltling2011 All American Predictions: Season ReviewNCAA Picks (125-184 Posted)Read more: 2011 All American2011 NCAA Wrestling Championship Predictions2011 ncaa wrestling championships predictions2011 all american predictions2011 ncaa college wrestling predictionsDiscuss 2011 All American Predictions: Season ReviewNCAA Picks 197 and HWTncaa all american predictionszack giesen all americanncaa all-american 2011 picksMike and Mike NCAA 2011 Predictionsdavid taylor site:prediction for college wrestlingmichael jordan 2011 ncaa picksandrew long v andrew hochstrasserdevin carter nccataylor fittery session 42011 ncaa all americansite: Discuss 2011 All American Predictions: Season ReviewNCAA Picks 197 and HWT

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •