Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

  1. #1

    Default So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    Watched the Midlands last night. I was disappointed they left out a few first periods, but other than that I thought it was good. Not going to argue about announcers. At least we had the thing on Prime time TV.

    On to my point.

    First I am not an Illinois fan, despite being from Chicago. I also have no opinnion about American U.

    Good for John Dergo for turning it up this year. He's been on a tear and looks like he deserves to win matches. But of all the finals matches, you could also throw Reader's loss into this, that takedown in OT was waaaaay to quick.

    It looked, at least from the angle I saw it, that Dergo had his arm draped around the far leg at best. In the age of scrambling, they let so much go, but for some reason they didn't let this one go.

    I think if they wait one second, Cannon scrambles out of that particular sequence. It doesnt mean Dergo wouldn't have finished, he might have, we'll never know.

    If I'm wrong, thats cool, but that did not look like a TD.

    Any thoughts?
    Last edited by architeuthis; 01-05-2010 at 01:08 AM. Reason: grammer
    "It is the difference between humble and hubris that distinguishes their positions." -TLV

  2. #2

    Default Re: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    Good point squidman! I thought that it was alittle quick..........but Dergo was coming back and Cannon was giving up points, so maybe justice was done.
    The Art of living is more like wrestling than dancing.

  3. #3

    Default Re: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    I hope they meet again. Cannon won't let it come down to a takedown again.

  4. #4
    Olympic Champ r.payton@att.net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Danville .Indiana
    Posts
    8,718

    Default Re: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    Didn't see it Arch-the guys on TDR said the illegal move was a scissors which sent it into OT and I have not seen that called unless BLATANT in decades-the officiating seems to have gone downhill this year with some strange calls .

  5. #5

    Default Re: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    I used to get called on scissors and body figure fours all the time in college(leg rider).

    The illeagal move looked about right. But that take down was really iffy. Almost the same thing happened in the howe reader match.
    "It is the difference between humble and hubris that distinguishes their positions." -TLV

  6. #6

    Default Re: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    Yes, it appears that if a guy puts a hand down on the mat, it is considered a TD. Saw that in Howe/reader as well.
    The Art of living is more like wrestling than dancing.

  7. #7

    Default Re: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    they didn't call it (hands on the mat TD) on the d'alle/borschoff match at midlands which was weird. just saw that match on flo. weird officiating.

  8. #8

    Default Re: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    I too disagree with the call Cannon seems to have had that match taken from him on a very questionable, that being said MAN can he move for a big guy. That early low double was very reminiscent of Josh Glenn from 3 years ago in the Midland final vs Tamillow

  9. #9
    Olympic Champ r.payton@att.net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Danville .Indiana
    Posts
    8,718

    Default Re: So really, how bad did Cannon get hosed in OT?

    Dergo seems to win or lose a LOT of matches in the last 10 seconds -his first match with Askren was tied until Askren threw him for 4 points -then he beat Askren on a TD with seconds remainaing -then he had Smith beat and did some weird stuff to give up points -then won the Canon match after TDR guys had all but given it to Canon -earlier in the year ,at Brockport , Birchler was awarded a TD against Barlow in OT and I saw nothing resembling control. The ref's must have had a meeting and dicussed how the rules would be interpretated and not told anyone else .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •