March 10, 2013
CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - Thanks to a complete team effort, the Nittany Lion wrestling team earned a spot atop the Big Ten wrestling world for the third-straight season on Sunday evening inside Assembly Hall at Illinois.
Penn State clinched the 2013 Big Ten Championship title with a program-best 151.0 points, which included four individual champions. David Taylor (165) kick-started a string of four-straight individual titles with a 9-1 major decision in the 165-pound final. Matt Brown (174), Ed Ruth (184) and Quentin Wright (197) followed Taylor with championship titles in the next three matches.
From top to bottom, Penn State earned the 2013 Big Ten title. The Nittany Lions posted a 7-3 record in the final placing matches of the championships, which included four winners, and wins for Nico Megaludis (125) in third, Jordan Conaway (133) in fifth and Bryan Pearsall (141) in fifth.
Like the previous two titles, the team crown did not come without some adversity. Penn State trailed Iowa by 17.0 markers following the first session on Saturday morning. Nonetheless, the Lions answered by going 11-3 on Saturday night before a strong finish on Sunday afternoon. The Lions cleared second-place Minnesota (139.0) by 12 tallies. Iowa came in third with 133.5 points.


Penn State will not shift attention to the NCAA Championships, which begin two weeks from now in Des Moines, Iowa. Seeking their third-straight NCAA title, the Nittany Lions will have all 10 wrestlers competing at the NCAA Championships.

Continue reading "VIDEO: Nittany Lions Win Third-Straight Big Ten Crown"