March 18, 2011

PHILADELPHIA - Entering Friday evening's session at the NCAA Wrestling Championships, Oklahoma State is in fifth place with 44.5 team points. Cornell leads with 61 team points. Cowboy 133-pounder Jordan Oliver and 197-pounder Clayton Foster are both still alive in the championship bracket and will compete in the semifinals tonight.

Oliver continued his dominance with a 10-2 major decision win over No. 8 Mike Grey of Cornell in the quarterfinals. Oliver, who pinned both his first and second-round opponents to advance to the quarters, jumped on Grey early with a first-period takedown and rideout. After a scoreless second period, Oliver unleashed a wave of action in the third. He escaped to start the period, then scored three takedowns - two in the final 30 seconds - to score the bonus-point victory. Oliver is set to battle No. 4 Tyler Graff of Wisconsin in the semifinals later tonight.

It was a similar scene from Foster in the quarterfinals as well, with the Cowboy senior co-captain scoring an 8-2 win over No. 7 Zac Thomusseit of Pittsburgh. Foster has bruised his NCAA opposition so far, claiming a pair of major decision wins yesterday before his comfortable win over Thomusseit. Foster took Thoumusseit down three times and continued to get stronger as the bout went on to advance to the semifinals, where he will face No. 3 Trevor Brandvold of Wisconsin later tonight.

In the 149-pound quarterfinal, Jamal Parks suffered through a 3-0 loss to No. 4 Kyle Dake of Cornell. Dake, who won last year's NCAA title as a 141-pounder, got on the board first with a takedown and rideout in the first period. An escape to start the second period extended Dake's advantage to 3-0. Parks chose a neutral start to the third period, but was unable to tack on any points and was bumped into the wrestleback.



Chris Perry suffered a 4-2 loss to No. 2 Robert Hamlin of Lehigh in the quarterfinals. A Hamlin takedown and Perry escape in the first period put the score at 2-1 in Hamlin's favor. Perry tied the score at 2-2 with a second-period escape, but a Hamlin escape to start the third put Perry behind by a 3-2 margin. Perry was penalized later in the period for an illegal move to seal his 4-2 defeat. He'll get a chance to earn All-America status when he battles No. 8 Kevin Steinhaus of Minnesota later tonight. Neil Erisman was an 8-3 upset winner over No. 9 James Fleming of Clarion in the second round of the wrestleback. The two wrestlers were deadlocked at 2-2 after the first period, but Erisman scored a three-point nearfall in the second period to press his advantage and then finished Fleming off with a third-period takedown to seal his win. Erisman won again in his next bout, claiming a 4-1 win over Bloomsburg's Frank Hickman. Erisman will square off against No. 7 Bryce Saddoris tonight with the winner earning the title of All-American.

Also winning two in Friday's wrestleback was 174-pounder Mike Benefiel, who rolled to a 9-4 win over Patrick Martinez of Wyoming on the strength of three takedowns, then followed that up with a 7-2 triumph over Jake Swartz of Boise State. Benefiel looked as strong as he has all year in those two bouts. He faces No. 6 Ben Bennett of Central Michigan tonight. A win from Benefiel earns him All-America status for the first time in his career.

A pair of Cowboys had their season come to an end Friday, as Josh Kindig and Blake Rosholt were both bumped from the tournament field with losses. Kindig beat Virginia Tech's Chris Diaz by medical forfeit before suffering a 4-3 loss to No. 12 Zach Kemmerer of Pennsylvania. Rosholt lost a 2-1 decision to Kent State's Brendan Barlow.

Tonight's evening session starts at 6 p.m. Central Time and will be televised live by ESPNU.

Team Standings
1. Cornell - 61 points
2. Penn State - 60.5 points
3. Iowa - 52 points
4. American - 49 points
5. Oklahoma State - 44.5 points
6. Wisconsin - 41 points
7. Lehigh - 37 points
T8. Arizona State - 35 points
T8. Boise State - 35 points
10. Minnesota - 32 points

Championship Semifinals Schedule (Tonight)
133: No. 1 Jordan Oliver (OSU) vs. No. 4 Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)
197: No. 2 Clayton Foster (OSU) vs. No. 3 Trevor Brandvold (Wisconsin)

Wrestleback Fourth Round Schedule (Tonight)
149: No. 5 Jamal Parks (OSU) vs. Ivan Lopouchanski (UNC Greensboro)
157: Neil Erisman (OSU) vs. No. 7 Bryce Saddoris (Navy)
174: Mike Benefiel (OSU) vs. No. 6 Ben Bennett (Central Michigan)
184: No. 6 Chris Perry (OSU) vs. No. 8 Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota)

Oklahoma State Results

Championship Quarterfinals
133: No. 1 Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD No. 8 Mike Grey (Cornell); 10-2
149: No. 4 Kyle Dake (Cornell) dec. No. 5 Jamal Parks (OSU); 3-0
184: No. 2 Robert Hamlin (Lehigh) dec. No. 7 Chris Perry (OSU); 4-2
197: No. 2 Clayton Foster (OSU) dec. No. 7 Zac Thomusseit (Pittsburgh); 8-2

Wrestleback Second Round
141: Josh Kindig (OSU) won by medical forfeit over Chris Diaz (Virginia Tech)
157: Neil Erisman (OSU) dec. No. 9 James Fleming (Clarion); 8-3
174: Mike Benefiel (OSU) dec. Patrick Martinez (Wyoming); 9-4
285: Brendan Barlow (Kent State) dec. Blake Rosholt (OSU); 2-1

Wrestleback Third Round
141: No. 12 Zach Kemmerer (Penn) dec. Josh Kindig (OSU); 4-3
157: Neil Erisman (OSU) dec. Frank Hickman (Bloomsburg); 4-1
174: Mike Benefiel (OSU) dec. Jacob Swartz (Boise State); 7-2

Championship First Round (Thursday)
125: Mark Rappo (Penn) dec. No. 9 Jon Morrison (OSU); 8-4
133: No. 1 Jordan Oliver (OSU) fall Tyler Small (Kent State); 2:56
141: No. 7 Tyler Nauman (Pittsburgh) dec. Josh Kindig (OSU); 7-3
149: No. 5 Jamal Parks (OSU) dec. Dan Zilverberg (Minnesota); 6-3
157: No. 3 David Taylor (Penn State) MD Neil Erisman (OSU); 13-2
165: Paul Gillespie (Hofstra) dec. No. 6 Dallas Bailey (OSU); 4-2 SV
174: No. 12 Mike Benefiel (OSU) MD Brandon Wright (Chattanooga); 8-0
184: No. 7 Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Tony Dallago (Illinois); 11-5
197: No. 2 Clayton Foster (OSU) MD Luke Macciarolli (Arizona State); 11-1
285: David Marone (Virginia Tech) dec. Blake Rosholt (OSU); 2-1 TB

Championship Second Round (Thursday)
133: No. 1 Jordan Oliver (OSU) fall Levi Mele (Northwestern); 2:11
149: No. 5 Jamal Parks (OSU) dec. Eric Terrazas (Illinois); 3-1
174: No. 5 Chris Henrich (Virginia) dec. No. 12 Mike Benefiel (OSU) 6-5
184: No. 7 Chris Perry (OSU) dec. No. 10 Josh Ihnen (Nebraska); 5-2
197: No. 2 Clayton Foster (OSU) MD Joe Kennedy (Lehigh); 10-1

Consolation First Round (Thursday)
125: Allen Bartelli (Boise State) dec. No. 9 Jon Morrison (OSU); 5-3 SV2
141: Josh Kindig (OSU) dec. Trevor Melde (Rutgers); 8-2
157: Neil Erisman (OSU) MD Matt Kaylor (Binghamton); 14-1
165: No. 11 Aaron Janssen (Iowa) dec. No. 6 Dallas Bailey (OSU); 10-6
285: Blake Rosholt (OSU) dec. Parker Burns (Campbellsville); 2-1