March 5, 2011


CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. ? Darrion Caldwell added to his remarkable legacy Saturday by winning his fourth Atlantic Coast Conference individual championship at the 2011 ACC Wrestling Championships.

Caldwell, who defeated Derek Valenti of Virginia 6-3 to win the title at 149 pounds, became the sixth wrestler ever to win four conference championships, the fourth from NC State. He joins former NC State wrestlers Joe Lidowski (1977-78-79-80), Tab Thacker (1981-82-83-84) and Sylvester Terkay (1990-91-92-93) as four-time ACC champions. Caldwell is now 33-0 for his career against ACC opponents.

Caldwell previously won conference championships in 2007 (at 141 pounds), 2008 and 2009 (at 149). He missed the 2009-10 season following shoulder surgery.

Caldwell defeated North Carolina?s Nick Stabile 6-0 in the semifinals to advance to the championship bout. He received a bye through the first round.

The 2009 national champion at 149 pounds and a two-time All-American, Caldwell improved to 14-0 on the season and 108-12 for his career. He improved his career winning percentage to exactly .900, which is the best in NC State history.

Caldwell, ranked No. 1 nationally, is second in school history in career victories with 108 and in career pins with 58. He has not lost to an opponent on the mat since March 27, 2008, during the medal round of that year?s NCAA Championships. He has wrestled 54 matches since then without losing to an opponent. He had a medical default at Oklahoma on Jan. 30, 2009, which the only loss on his record in that time.



By winning the conference championship, Caldwell earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships, which will be held March 17-19 in Philadelphia. Two other NC State wrestlers placed in their respective weight classes. Darrius Little lost 3-1 in sudden victory to Maryland?s Jon Kohler in the finals a141 pounds and finished in* second place. And Eloheim Palma won a pair of matches in the wrestleback bracket to take third in the heavyweight division.

Little also earned a bid to the NCAA Championships by virtue of his second-place finish at 141.



2011 ACC Wrestling Championships
Final Standings
1. Maryland, 94.5
2. Virginia Tech, 82.5
3. Virginia, 69
4. North Carolina, 37
5. NC State, 34.5
6. Duke, 9

NC State?s individual matches in the 2011 ACC Wrestling Championships:

Mike Moreno (125)
pinned Jacob Corrill (UNC) at 1:43
lost to Jarrod Garnett (VT), 0-5
lost to Shane Gentry (UM), by fall at 2:09
4th place

Conor Hovis (133)
lost to Pat Owens (UNC), 0-8
lost to Lou Ruland (UM), 5-14

Darrius Little (141)
defeated Nick Nelson (UVA), 5-2
lost to John Kohler (UMD), 1-3, sv
2nd place

Darrion Caldwell (149)
defeated Nick Stabile (UNC), 6-0
defeated Derek Valenti (UVA), 6-3
ACC Champion

Colton Palmer (157)
lost to Jesse Dong (VT), 1-6
lost to Shawn Harris (UVA), 4-9

Nijel Jones (165)
lost to Jedd Moore (UVA), 3-16
lost to Thomas Scotten (UNC), 8-11

Colin Genthert (174)
lost to Chris Henrich (UVA), by fall at 1:46
lost to Thomas Ferguson (UNC), 6-18

Quinton Godley (184)
lost to Jon Fausey (UVA), 2-7
defeated John Dickson (VT), 5-4
lost to Jon Fausey (UVA), 3-3, ot rideout, tb2
4th place

KaRonne Jones (197)
lost to Mike Salopek (UVA), by fall at 3:25
lost to Christian Boley (UMD), by fall at 6:51

Eloheim Palma (285)
defeated Andrew Fulk (DU), 6-5
lost to David Marone (VT), 5-7, sv
defeated Ben Brooks (UNC), 4-2
defeated Jack Danilkowicz (UVA), 3-2
3rd place