Boone, N.C. ? The Citadel Wrestling team concluded their 2010-211 season on Saturday by place six wrestlers and taking fourth place at the Southern Conference Championships at the Holmes Convention Center.The Bulldogs, who led after the opening round, advanced eight wrestlers into the semifinal round. In the semifinals, several Citadel grapplers were upset with just Pierre Frazile and SoCon Wrestler of the Year Turtogtokh Luvsandorj making it to the finals.

At 165 pounds, Luvsandroj and second-seeded Kyle Blevins went back and forth with Blevins eventually pulling off the 4-3 upset in overtime to claim the title. Meanwhile, Frazile could not get past Chattanooga?s Josh Condon who prevailed, 11-5 to grab the bid to the NCAA Championships.

Richard Alarcon, Tyler Sim, Derek Royster, Justin Sparrow and Kelby Smith all won their opening round matchups to advance to the semifinals.

Alarcon ran into unfortunate luck at 125 pounds as he downed ASU?s Tony Gravely, 8-2, but suffered a concussion in the process and was forced to forfeit his final two matches. Sim earned a major decision over VMI?s Luke Todd at 133 pounds, but top-seeded Jamel Johnson of UNCG then put a 14-6 major decision on Sim. After defeating ASU?s Brett Boston to advance to the consolation finals, Sim fell to Davidson?s Alex Radsky, 5-1 to finish fourth.

At 149 pounds, Royster got an 11-0 major decision over Michael Long of VMI, but was the pinned by top-seeded Ivan Lopouchanski. After a 17-2 tech fall of Davidson?s Scott Ray, Royster fell in the consolation finals to ASU?s Sava Kostis in a tight one, 9-8.

Sparrow and Smith, who both had been red-hot coming into the SoCon Championships, each dropped a tough match, but rallied to take third place in the consolation finals. At 184 pounds, Sparrow quickly ousted Davidson?s Ike Crews via fall before being pinned by second-seeded Jason McCroskey of Chattanooga. Sparrow then rallied to beat VMI?s John Dommert and Elijah Adams of UNCG to take third place.

At 197 pounds, Smith earned a bye before dropping a tough 9-8 decision to second-seed Niko Brown of Chattanooga. In the consolation bracket, he earned a 10-3 decision over Appalachian State?s Jon Hartley and then defeated VMI?s Ronnie Ellsworth, 8-1 to t take the third place title.

J.C. Oddo earned a bye as the No. 2 seed at 174 pounds, but was then eliminated in back-to-back matches. Jordan Dix at 141 pounds and Luke Johnson at heavyweight also participated for The Citadel.

#4 Richard Alarcon (CIT) dec. #5 Tony Gravely (ASU), 8-2
#1 M. Ramirez (UNCG) M. For. #4 R. Alarcon (CIT)
#6 M. Zarth (DAV) M. For. #4 R. Alarcon (CIT)

#4 Tyler Sim (CIT) MD #5 Luke Todd (VMI), 16-3
#1 J. Johnson (UNCG) MD #4 T. Sim (CIT), 14-6
#4 T. Sim (CIT) dec. #6 B. Boston (ASU), 12-6
#3 A. Radsky (DAV) dec. #4 T. Sim (CIT), 5-1
Tyler Sim places fourth

#4 David Yost (VMI) TB-1 #5 Jordan Dix (CIT), 2-1
#2 V. Radsky (DAV) Dec. #5 J. Dix (CIT), 9-4

#4 Derek Royster (CIT) MD #5 Michael Long (VMI), 11-0
#1 I. Lopouchanski (UNCG) FALL #4 D. Royster (CIT), 4:13
#4 D. Royster (CIT) Tech Fall #6 S. Ray (DAV), 17-2 7:00
#3 S. Kostis (ASU) Dec. #4 D. Royster (CIT), 9-8
Derek Royster places fourth

#2 Pierre Frazile (CIT) vs BYE
#2 P. Frazile (CIT) dec. #3 J. Blakely (ASU), 8-4
#1 J. Condon (UTC) dec. #2 P. Frazile (CIT), 11-5
Pierre Frazile places second

#1 Turtogtokh Luvsandorj (CIT) vs BYE
#1 T. Luvsandorj (CIT) Dec. #4 B. Miller (UNCG), 6-4
#2 K. Blevins (ASU) TB-1 #1 T. Luvsandorj (CIT), 4-3
Turtogtokh Luvsandorj places second

#2 J.C. Oddo (CIT) vs BYE
#3 B. Sigmon (UNCG) dec. #2 Oddo (CIT), 5-2
#4 M. Brock (VMI) Dec. #2 J. Oddo (CIT), 6-0

#3 Justin Sparrow (CIT) Fall #6 Ike Crews (DAV), 5:49
#2 J. McCroskey (UTC) FALL #3 J. Sparrow (CIT), 2:27
#3 J. Sparrow (CIT) MD #5 J. Dommert (VMI), 10-2
#3 J. Sparrow, (CIT) FALL #4 E. Adams (UNCG), 4:33
Justin Sparrow places third

#3 Kelby Smith (CIT) vs BYE
#2 N. Brown (UTC) dec. #3 K. Smith (CIT), 6-5
#3 K. Smith (CIT) dec. #5 J. Hartley (ASU), 10-3
#3 K. Smith (CIT) dec. #4 R. Ellsworth (VMI), 8-1
Kelby Smith places third

#4 Marc Tyson (ASU) dec. #5 Luke Johnson (CIT), 3-1
#6 M. Lettner (UTC) Dec. #5 L. Johnson (CIT), 7-4

Final Team Standings
1, Chattanooga ? 98
2, UNCG - 87.5
3, Appalachian State - 57.5
4. The Citadel - 44.5
5. VMI - 27
6. Davidson - 18

The NCAA Championships take place in Philadelphia, Pa. from March 17-20. For more information on Bulldog Wrestling, visit