The Wisconsin wrestling team wrapped up the 2011 Big Ten Championships with a fourth place finish with 103.5 points on Sunday.

March 6, 2011

? Brackets*** *| * Team Standings*

EVANSTON, Ill. -- The Wisconsin wrestling team wrapped up the 2011 Big Ten Championships with a fourth place finish with 103.5 points on Sunday. UW had two Big Ten Champions, including junior Andrew Howe (165 lbs.) and redshirt senior Trevor Brandvold (197 lbs.), who were also the Badgers? lone titlists a year ago.*

Penn State won the team title with 139 points, one more than Iowa. Minnesota claimed third place with 109.5 points at the Welsh-Ryan Arena.

Howe is the first Badger to become a three-time Big Ten Championship since current associate head coach Donny Pritzlaff and former Badger slated three Big Ten titles from 1999-2001.

Brandvold was the only 197 pounder to capture a Big Ten title for Wisconsin and he now has two.

The Badgers automatically qualified seven different wrestlers, including redshirt sophomore Tyler Graff (133 lbs.), redshirt sophomore Cole Schmitt (149 lbs.), Howe, redshirt sophomore Ben Jordan (174 lbs.), junior Travis Rutt (184 lbs.), Brandvold and redshirt senior Eric Bugenhagen (Hwt.).

Howe took on Ohio State?s Colt Sponseller in the 165 lbs. championship, which came down to overtime. Each wrestler earned an escape in regulation, but Howe notched a takedown with six seconds left in overtime to defeat the Buckeye, 3-1.*

Brandvold defeated Iowa?s Luke Lofthouse in the 197 lbs. championship. The two-time Big Ten champion captured a 5-2 victory that included two takedowns and an escape.

Graff took second place at 133 lbs. with a loss to Penn State?s Andrew Long. Graff had a 3-2 lead with two seconds remaining in the match, but Long was awarded a point because Graff fled the mat. Long won the match in overtime, 7-4, with a takedown and two nearfall points.

Rutt earned the third place title at 184 lbs., shutting out Ohio State?s C.J. Magrum by a 6-0 decision. Rutt defeated Iowa?s Grant Gambrall with a pin at 4:19 in the semifinals.

Bugenhagen also took the third place title at heavyweight. In the semifinals, Bugenhagen upset Penn State?s Cameron Wade by a 4-3 decision to advance to the third place match. He then defeated Michigan State?s Joe Rizqallah, 6-1.

Jordan lost his first match on Sunday to Purdue?s Luke Manuel in a match that came down to the first tiebreaker. Manuel defeated Jordan by a 4-3 decision, knocking Jordan down to the fifth place match. The Badger then fell to Minnesota?s Scott Glasser by a 6-1 decision, earning him a sixth place finish.

Redshirt sophomore Tom Kelliher also placed in sixth with a 3-0 loss to Purdue?s Camden Eppert. Kelliher lost to Minnesota?s Zac Sanders by pin at 3:29 prior to the fifth place bout.

The NCAA Division I Wrestling selection show will be broadcast on broadband via The show will air Wednesday at 5 p.m. (CT) from an in-house studio at the NCAA national office.


Justin Mozer

UW Athletic Communications