CEDAR FALLS, Iowa ? The Iowa State wrestling team earned an eighth-place finish at the 2011 NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals. The team placed eighth despite entering as an unseeded team. The Cyclones went 2-3 for the tournament with victories over Northern Illinois and American in the UNI Dome.

The Cyclones fell to familiar foe Boise State 25-13 for the second time Sunday, the same score by which Boise State prevailed on Saturday.*

The teams we lost to are better teams right now," Jackson said. "We are a .500 team right now. It is a long season and we held out some guys because we have so much coming up."

Iowa State's 141-pound All-American, Chris Drouin, missed Sunday's matches after breaking a finger Saturday. Cyclone 197-pounder Jerome Ward wrestled just one of Iowa State's five matches. ISU's 149-pound senior Nate Carr Jr. wrestled only two matches over the weekend.

"Drouin is banged up. Jerome has been slow to comeback from arthroscopic knee surgery," Jackson said. "We expected him to be better off now than he is. Nate Carr Jr. has struggled with his weight and we will have to decide whether he should move up to 157. We shall see."

Andrew Sorenson once again came through for the Cyclones with a gritty 5-3 overtime win over Michael Cuthbertson at 165 pounds. Sorenson used a takedown with 25 seconds left in the overtime period to seal up his fourth victory of the weekend.
Top-ranked Jon Reader continued his undefeated season with an 8-2 victory over Jake Schwartz at 174 pounds. Reader rolled up two minutes of riding time en route to the victory which makes him 23-0 this season.
Cole Shafer put forth an impressive performance in his 13-5 decision over Randy Larson at 184 pounds. The redshirt freshman took his opponent down four times during the one-sided match.
Phil Hawes used his minute of riding time to secure a 4-2 victory over Matt Casperson at 197 pounds. Hawes secured an early takedown and controlled his opponent throughout the match.
Iowa State?s next competition will be against Minnesota on Sunday, Jan. 16 in Hilton Coliseum at 2 p.m.

125: Alan Bartelli (Boise State) dec. Brandon Jones (Iowa State), 8-3

133: Andrew Hochstrasser (Boise State) pin Ben Cash (Iowa State), 2:53

141: Levi Jones (Boise State) win by forfeit

149: Jason Chamberlain (Boise State) mdec. Max Mayfield (Iowa State), 13-4

157: Adam Hall (Boise State) dec. Trent Weatherman (Iowa State), 10-3

165: Andrew Sorenson (Iowa State) dec. Michael Cuthbertson (Boise State), 5-3 SV

174: Jon Reader (Iowa State) dec. Jake Schwartz (Boise State), 8-2

184: Cole Shafer (Iowa State) mdec. Randy Larson (Boise State), 13-5

197: Phil Hawes (Iowa State) dec. Matt Casperson (Boise State), 4-2

285: J.T. Feelix (Boise State) dec. Matt Gibson (Iowa State), 4-2