AMES, Iowa ? The Iowa State wrestling team is heading to Evanston, Ill. for its biggest test of the season. The team will compete in the Midlands Championships starting Wed. at 9:30 a.m., with the final session beginning Thurs. at 7 p.m.

Cyclone Notebook

? The Cyclones are 4-1 in dual competition so far this year, with victories over Virginia Tech, Kent State, Boston University and Old Dominion.
? Jon Reader (174-lbs) has a perfect record of 13-0 this year, and has won titles at the Hokie Open and the Harold Nichols Open.
? Iowa State boasts a line-up that includes six wrestlers rated in the top 20 of their respective weight classes.
? The Cyclones claimed four titles at the Harold Nichols Open only two days after defeating Boston University by a score of 32-12.
? Matt Gibson (HWT) and Jon Reader were both crowned champions at the Hokie Open.
? In his first appearance in Hilton Coliseum, sophomore Patrick Hunter (125-lbs) sent the crowd to its feet with a second-period pin against Boston University.
? Kyle Simonson (HWT) and Jon Reader (174-lbs) lead the team with 13 victories apiece.
? The Cyclones have won 11 of their last 12 duals.
? The Cyclones defeated Old Dominion 26-11 and were led by Andrew Sorenson who registered a first-period pin at 165 pounds.Iowa State at the Midlands Championships
? Last season the Cyclones advanced four wrestlers to the finals, with Jake Varner (197 lbs.) being crowned champion.**
? Jon Reader placed second last year in the 165-pound weight class. Reader was defeated in overtime by eventual national champion Andrew Howe of Wisconsin.*
? Jerome Ward is the only other returning place-winner for Iowa State. The junior from Evergreen Park, Ill. placed seventh at 184 pounds last year.
? There are currently six Cyclones rated in the top-20 by Intermat Wrestling.
? In program history, ISU has secured Midlands team champion trophies in 1965, 1967, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1981 and 2006.

2009 Midlands Results
125-pound championship - Matt McDonough (Iowa) dec. Andrew Long (ISU), 9-7
133-pound fifth-place match - Nick Fanthorpe (ISU) dec. Nate Moore (Iowa), 2-1 (TB)
149-pound third-place match - Kevin LeValley (Bucknell) dec. Mitch Mueller (ISU), 2-0
165-pound championship - Andrew Howe (Wisconsin) dec. Jon Reader (ISU), 3-1 (SV2)
174-pound fifth-place match - Dorian Henderson (Missouri) dec. Duke Burk (ISU), 3-1 (SV)
184-pound seventh-place match - Jerome Ward (ISU) win by forfeit
197-pound championship match - Jake Varner (ISU) dec. Wynn Michalek (CMU), 6-1
285-pound championship match - Jarod Trice (CMU) dec. David Zabriskie (ISU), 3-2