For 2011 Junior Greco-Roman Fargo Nationals ? Brackets, Results & Recap and many other topics visit

Nkosi Moody of Illinois knows all about the rich history of the Harvey Twisters wrestling club.

?It means a lot to wrestle for them,? Moody said. ?A lot of great wrestlers have come through there, like (Olympian) T.C. Dantzler and (NCAA champion) Tony Davis. I?m just glad to be a part of it and continue the tradition.?

Moody is doing exactly that after he swept Nebraska?s Dante Rodriguez 4-0, 6-0 in the Junior Nationals Greco-Roman 98-pound finals on Tuesday afternoon.

Moody was one of 15 champions crowned on Tuesday at the Fargo Dome.

Moody won the Junior Folkstyle Nationals earlier this year and remains alive to win a USA Wrestling Triple Crown. He will need to win a Junior freestyle title later this week to complete the rare triple.

?Winning the Triple Crown is very important to me,? Moody said. ?Last year I wasn?t able to do it. This year I?m coming after it. I?ve put in so much work that it would just mean so much to me.?

Three wrestlers repeated as Junior Nationals Greco champions. They included Missouri?s Colton Howell (112 pounds), Florida?s Rossi Bruno (125) and Wisconsin?s Devin Peterson (189)

Howell swept Iowa?s Phillip Laux 1-0, 3-0 to win his second straight Junior Greco title.

?Freestyle and Folkstyle is not my thing,? Howell said. ?Greco is where I?m comfortable and where I?m at my best. It really fits well with my style of wrestling.?

Bruno, a four-time state high school champion, won Junior Greco at 125 for the second straight year. Bruno edged 2010 Cadet Nationals Greco champion Zane Richards of Illinois 3-0, 0-1, 1-0.

Peterson downed Minnesota?s Jake Waste 5-0, 1-0 in a battle of 2009 Cadet Triple Crown champions.

Illinois? Jahwon Akui (171), a past Cadet Nationals double champion, struck gold again in North Dakota when he downed Michigan?s Kevin Beazley 1-0, 1-0. Akui, an Iowa Central recruit, placed third in Junior Greco in 2010.

Akui was named Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament.

Illinois won the team title with Florida finishing second.

Florida?s Isaiah Varona knocked off returning champion Tyler Fraley of New Jersey 1-0, 0-1, 1-0 to win the title at 119.

Following Bruno?s win at 125, Florida made it three in a row when Kevin Norstrem swept Jacob Velarde of Washington 3-0, 1-0 in the 130 finals.

Florida added a fourth title when Geordan Speiller defeated Iowa?s Alex Meyer 3-0, 3-1 in the 160 finals. Meyer won Junior Folkstyle Nationals earlier this year.

Michigan?s Ben Whitford continued his run of Fargo success by taking two straight from Oklahoma?s Chase Ferman 9-2, 7-0 in the 135 finals. Whitford won Cadet Nationals titles in Greco and freestyle in 2010.

Michigan?s Adam Coon won the title at 215 after scoring a second-period pin over Florida?s Lee Wildes. Coon won a Cadet Nationals Greco title in 2010.

North Dakota?s Joe Schumacher delivered in his home state by downing Idaho?s Casey George 2-0, 1-0 in the 140 finals.

California?s Johnson Mai won the crown at 105 after rallying past Wisconsin?s Bobby Nachreiner 2-5, 3-2, 3-0.

Utah?s Jacob Falk swept Oliver Pierce of Texas 2-1, 1-0 in the 145 finals.

Wisconsin?s Alex Dieringer (152), an Oklahoma State recruit, swept Florida?s Clark Glass 2-0, 1-0 in the finals. Dieringer placed third in Greco here last year before winning a Junior freestyle championship.

Minnesota?s Parker Betts capped the session by defeating Colorado?s Connor Medbery 1-0, 2-0 in the 285 finals. Betts is the brother of 2009 World Team member Chas Betts.

Juniors feature the nation?s top 16-18 year olds.

Article Written By Craig Sesker of USA Wrestling


Nkosi Moody (Illinois) dec. Dante Rodriguez (Nebraska), 4-0, 6-0105 POUNDS
Johnson Mai (California) dec. Bobby Nachreiner (Wisconsin), 2-5, 3-2, 3-0

Colton Howell (Missouri) dec. Phillip Laux (Iowa), 1-0, 3-0

Isaiah Varona (Florida) dec. Tyler Fraley (New Jersey), 1-0, 0-1, 1-0

Rossi Bruno (Florida) dec. Zane Richards (Illinois), 3-0, 0-1, 1-0

Kevin Norstrem (Florida) dec. Jacob Velarde (Washington), 3-0, 1-0

Ben Whitford (Michigan) dec. Chase Ferman (Oklahoma), 9-2, 7-0

Joe Schumacher (North Dakota) dec. Casey George (Idaho), 2-0, 1-0

Jacob Falk (Utah) dec. Oliver Pierce (Texas), 2-1, 1-0

Alex Dieringer (Wisconsin) dec. Clark Glass (Florida), 2-0, 1-0

Geordan Speiller (Florida) dec. Alex Meyer (Iowa), 3-0, 3-1

Jahwon Akui (Illinois) dec. Kevin Beazley (Michigan), 1-0, 1-0

Devin Peterson (Wisconsin) dec. Jake Waste (Minnesota), 5-0, 1-0

Adam Coon (Michigan) pinned Lee Wildes (Florida), 0-2, 1:16

Parker Betts (Minnesota) dec. Connor Medbery (Colorado), 1-0, 2-0

Complete Brackets & Results for Junior Greco-Roman Nationals