For Mitch Bengtson (No. 11 @ 119) Wins Third State Title and many other topics visit

After Mitch Bengtson (No.11 @ 119) made quick work of Corey Latuff in the state championship match, he thrust three fingers in the air.

They said it all.

Bengtson became a three-time state champion Saturday night at the Xcel Energy Center, winning the Class 3A 119-pound match before 11,288 fans. He beat Latuff, a senior from Hastings, by technical fall in 5:13. The score was 15-0 when the match was called.

Bengtson, a sophomore at St. Cloud Apollo, becomes the most decorated wrestler in the city?s history. He has a 136-match winning streak, putting him within five of the state record of 141 held by Marcus LeVesseur. LeVesseur did it while wrestling for Minneapolis Roosevelt from 1998-2000 and then for Bloomington Kennedy in 2001.

Bengtson also becomes the 48th wrestler in state history to be a three-time champion. Eleven have won four state titles and four have won five. Apple Valley?s Destin McCauley joined the five-time club Saturday night at 152 in Class 3A.

For Complete Article by Tom Elliott, St Cloud Times

Complete Minnesota State Wrestling Results